Back - List of Pavilions

Iran - Expo Montreal 1967

Iran at the Exhibition Expo Montreal 1967
© expo67
Architect(s) : A. A. Farmanfarmaelan, P. Moayed-Ahd

The Iran pavilion is a modern adaptation of traditional Persian architecture. A colonnade covered with blue ceramics and painted with flowers and birds surrounds the rectangular building. The architect also used steel, concrete, stucco and, inside, ceramics, wood and mirrors.

The theme "the thousand and one faces of Iran" evokes the past, illustrates the present and casts a new light on the future.

On the ground floor a fountain sings. Colour projections show the beauty of the country, its history and achievements. Priceless treasures are on display: silver-encrusted bronzes, gold vases, precious chests, painted earthenware, porcelain. The floor is strewn with sumptuous carpets.

On the first floor, Iran presents the efforts made to improve agriculture, education, health services, the status of women, etc. The oil industry is given pride of place, as are handicrafts. Here again, one can admire rich brocades, chiselled gold jewellery, coloured glassware, silks, wrought metal and enamels. Young craftsmen weave magnificent carpets. In another area, Iran pays homage to the great Cyrus, presents an illuminated manuscript of the Koran and a page - also illuminated - of the Rubaiyât by the poet Omar Khayyam.

In the bar-restaurant, visitors can enjoy the country's gastronomic specialities.

© Expo67 - General Report

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Iran


Iran à l'exposition de Montréal 1967

© expo67
Architecte(s) : A. A. Farmanfarmaelan, P. Moayed-Ahd

Le pavillon de l'Iran est une adaptation moderne de l'architecture persane traditionnelle. Une colonnade recouverte de céramique bleue peinte de motifs de fleurs et d'oiseaux, entoure cette construction de forme rectangulaire. L'architecte a en outre utilisé l'acier, le béton, le stuc et, à. l'intérieur, la céramique, le bois et les miroirs.

Le thème "les mille et un visages de l'Iran" évoque le passé, illustre le présent et projette sur l'avenir une lumière nouvelle.

Au rez-de-chaussée chante une fontaine. Des projections en couleur font connaître les beautés du pays, son histoire et ses réalisations. On présente des trésors sans prix: bronzes incrustés d'argent, vases en or, précieux coffrets, faïences peintes, porcelaine. Le sol est jonché de somptueux tapis.

A l'étage, l'Iran fait connaître les efforts déployés en vue d'améliorer l'agriculture, l'enseignement, les services de santé, la condition de la femme, etc. L'industrie pétrolière occupe une place de choix, de même que l'artisanat. Ici encore, on admire de riches brocarts, des bijoux d'or ciselé, de la verrerie colorée, des soies, du métal ouvré, des émaux. De jeunes artisans tissent de magnifiques tapis. Dans un autre secteur, l'Iran rend hommage au grand Cyrus, présente un manuscrit enluminé du Coran et une page - également enluminée - des Rubaiyât du poète Omar Khayyam.

Au bar-restaurant, le visiteur peut savourer les spécialités gastronomiques du pays.

© Expo67 - Rapport Général