World and International Exhibition Montreal 1967 - Expo67

Man and his Universe

April 28, 1967 - October 29, 1967


Back - List of Pavilions

State of Maine

State of Maine at the Exhibition Montreal 1967

© expo67

Architect(s) : Robert E. Armitage

Colonial in style, typical of New England, the Maine State Pavilion is modern in its material; it is made of pre-stressed concrete. Its white walls are decorated with vertical panels and a balustrade surrounds the roof. The emerald green shutters of the windows provide a vibrant contrast to the bright white.

From the building emerges a miniature train that continues along a rustic landscape, past a mound of pulpwood and a pulp mill, and back inside. Here is the exhibition area.

Maine, the land of holidays, is the main theme, which is developed through various displays: the beauty of the landscape, the history of the state, the tourist industry, natural resources, economic development, and artistic life.

One display shows a mountain range covered with snow and criss-crossed by ski lifts. The snow melts to form a torrent which drives the wheel of a flour mill. The stream widens, passes under a bridge and cascades into three large ponds. In each of the ponds, animated illustrations on spinning flies show the recreational activities found in Maine in spring, summer and autumn. The flour mill features slides illustrating recreational and industrial Maine.

The right wing of the pavilion is devoted to the history of the state of Maine, its agricultural products and its mineral wealth. One section shows a lake teeming with freshwater fish; another, representing the ocean shoreline, is populated by saltwater fish.

Then you cross the bridge over the stream to find yourself in front of the industrial sector. Here, the model train seen outside the pavilion travels through the industrial regions, simulating the transportation of Maine-made products to markets in America.

An art exhibit completes the Maine picture and illustrates the state's importance in American history.

© Expo67 - General Report

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Etat du Maine


Etat du Maine à l'exposition de Montréal 1967

© expo67
Architecte(s) : Robert E. Armitage

Du style colonial, typique de la Nouvelle-Angleterre, le pavillon de l'Etat du Maine est cependant moderne quant a son matériau; il est fait de béton précontraint. Ses murs blancs sont ornés de panneaux verticaux et une balustrade entoure la toiture. Les volets vert émeraude des fenêtres apportent un vibrant contraste à cette éclatante blancheur.

Du bâtiment émerge un train miniature qui poursuit sa route le long d'un paysage rustique, passe près d'un monticule de bois de pulpe et d'une usine de pâte à papier et rentre à l'intérieur. Là se trouve l'aire d'exposition.

Le Maine, pays des vacances, est le thème principal que l'on développe au moyen de diverses présentations: la beauté du paysage, l'histoire de l'Etat, l'industrie touristique, les ressources naturelles, le développement économique, la vie artistique.

Un étalage illustre une chaîne de montagnes recouvertes de neige et sillonnées de monte-pente s. La neige forme, en fondant, un torrent qui actionne la roue d'un moulin à farine. Ce torrent s'élargit, passe sous un pont et se précipite en cascades dans trois larges étangs. Dans chacun des étangs, des illustrations animées sur des fies tournantes montrent les activités récréatives que l'on trouve dans le Maine au printemps, à l'été et à l'automne. Le moulin à farine présente des diapositives illustrant le Maine récréatif et industriel.

L'aile droite du pavillon est consacrée à l'histoire de l'Etat du Maine, à ses produits agricoles et à ses richesses minérales. Une section montre un lac ou foisonnent les poissons d'eau douce; une autre, représentant le littoral de l'océan, est peuplée de poissons d'eau salée.

On traverse ensuite le pont au-dessus du torrent pour se retrouver en face du secteur de l'industrie. Ici, le train miniature que l'on a vu à l'extérieur du pavillon, sillonne les régions industrielles, simulant le transport des produits fabriqués dans le Maine jusqu'aux marchés de l'Amérique.

Une exposition d’œuvres d'art complète le panorama du Maine et on illustre l'importance de cet Etat dans l'histoire des Etats-Unis.

© Expo67 - Rapport Général