World and International Exhibition Montreal 1967 - Expo67

Man and his Universe

April 28, 1967 - October 29, 1967


Back - List of Pavilions

Republic of Korea

Republic of Korea at the Exhibition Expo Montreal 1967

© expo67

Architect(s) : Kim Swoo Geun Associates

The Korean pavilion, hand-built in the style of a traditional manor house, is rectangular in shape. It consists of eight twin columns supporting a flat roof, the only concession to modernism, to better fit the overall architecture of Expo 67.

The exterior cladding and framing are of wood, and in front of the pavilion entrance, a 40-foot high column of logs stacked and alternating in both directions symbolizes the promise of the future and illustrates the pavilion's theme: "the hand of man".

This corner of the Far East in America reveals to the visitor not only the cultural heritage of a country whose history goes back more than four thousand years, but also its rise in international trade. Among the exhibits are Korean national treasures, such as a Buddha replica of a 5th century bronze in the Seoul National Museum, a scale reproduction of the first battleship in history, invented by Admiral Yi Sun Shin in 1595, and ancient printing methods.

Fabrics, woodcuts, trays, ancient and modern masks, and ceramics showcase the traditions of various regions of the country. Modern products also have their place. Bicycles, sewing machines, typewriters, synthetics, etc. can be seen.

© Expo67 - General Report

Retour - Liste Pavillons

République de Corée


République de Corée à l'exposition de Montréal 1967

© expo67
Architecte(s) : Kim Swoo Geun Associates

Le pavillon de la Corée, construit à la main dans le style d'un manoir traditionnel, est de forme rectangulaire. Il se compose de huit colonnes jumelées supportant un toit plat, seule concession au modernisme, pour mieux cadrer avec l'architecture générale de l'Expo 67.

Le revêtement extérieur et l'ossature sont de bois et, devant l'entrée du pavillon, une colonne haute de 40 pieds, faite de billes de bois superposées et alternées dans les deux sens, symbolise les promesses de l'avenir et illustre le thème du pavillon: "la main de l'homme".

Ce coin d'Extrême-Orient en terre d'Amérique révèle au visiteur non seulement l'héritage culturel d'un pays dont l'histoire remonte à plus de quatre mille ans, mais aussi son essor dans le domaine du commerce international. Parmi les éléments d'exposition se trouvent des trésors nationaux de la Corée, tel un Bouddha qui est la réplique d'un bronze du Ve siècle conservé au Musée national de Séoul, une reproduction à l'échelle du premier cuirassé de l'histoire, inventé par l'amiral Yi Sun Shin, en 1595, et d'anciennes méthodes d'imprimerie.

Des tissus, des gravures sur bois, des plateaux, des masques anciens et modernes, des céramiques font connaître les traditions des diverses régions du pays. Les produits modernes ont également leur place. On peut voir des bicyclettes, des machines a coudre ou à écrire, des produits synthétiques, etc.

© Expo67 - Rapport Général