World and International Exhibition Montreal 1967 - Expo67

Man and his Universe

April 28, 1967 - October 29, 1967


Back - List of Pavilions

Scandinavia

Scandinavia at the Exhibition Montreal 1967

Architect(s) : Erik Herlow & Tormod Olesen; Jaakko Paatela; Skarphedin Johanson; Otto Torgersen; Gustaf Lettström

The joint pavilion of the five Scandinavian countries, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden, has Human Solidarity as its theme. Five architects - one from each country - prepared the plans. They used plastics from Denmark, laminated wood beams from Finland, textiles from Iceland, slate from Norway, steel from Sweden.

The two floors of the pavilion stand on pillars in the middle of a sculpture park. Mobile ramps allow visitors to move to the first floor, where the large Midnight Sun restaurant with its imposing polished brass "smorgasbord" table, a cafeteria and a bar/lounge offer gastronomic specialities from the five countries.

On the upper floor are the exhibition rooms. Each of the
Each of the participants has its own area in which to showcase its characteristics. However, the elements are presented in such a way as to illustrate the fundamental unity of the cultures. The importance of international cooperation is particularly emphasised.

DENMARK has chosen as its theme: "Man as the raw material of a developed country", a theme which it translates by emphasising the high competence of the Danes in all fields of economic and cultural activity.

To help the visitor better understand the development of the main idea, Professor Erik Herlow of the Royal Academy of Fine Arts has created a relaxing setting.

Compositions made from raw and semi-finished products illustrate the talent that is essential for human progress, especially in agriculture, industry, arts, crafts and science.

The exhibits in the Danish section include "maxi-photos (9' x 9'), by Keld Helmer Petersen. Piet Hein's ironic and subtle poems - entitled Grooks - add verbal expression to the abstract displays.

In the sculpture park outside the pavilion, there is a work in three sections by the great sculptor Robert Jacobsen: "Loki and the Brandons of Discord".

FINLAND uses the most daring artistic forms to present its industrial and cultural achievements and to show that it is one of the fifteen most industrialised countries in the world.

In the exhibition room on the upper floor of the pavilion, five giant panels are creations by five of Finland's leading artists: Birger Kaipiainen, Laila Pullinen, Timo Sarpaneva, Ms Uhra Simberg-Ehrstrom and Tapio Wirkkala. Photos and samples of finished products surround the panels. Three Finnish artists are exhibiting works in the sculpture park.

The theme of the presentation is "Creative Finland".

ICELAND presents its geographical aspect and, in particular, its volcanoes, geysers and the use of natural hot springs in urban planning, especially in Reykjavik, the capital. Using materials provided by a physicist, a geologist and an engineer, architect Skarphedin Johannsen has created a series of drawings, sculptures, photographs and ceramics modelled in lava, which illustrate the history of Iceland, a geologist's paradise.

The main attraction of the event is a film shown in the DuPont auditorium. It shows how the volcanic island of Surtsey rose from the waters of the Atlantic. Columns of hissing steam and spurts of black ash shoot into the sky. Sometimes accompanied by hailstones and lightning, the lava bubbles up, rises from the ocean and finally forms a new island.

The presentation introduces the history of the Icelandic people, their way of life and the progress of their technology. Drawings illustrate the arrival of the Vikings and Leif Erikson's last voyages to Greenland.

Photographs of underground formations and above-ground developments, such as a municipal water pipe and a greenhouse for growing vegetables, flowers and tropical fruits, illustrate the use of the hot springs.

NORWAY, by choosing "Man and Water" as its theme, underlines its historical intimacy with this element. Architect Torgensen has played with metal to express the sub-themes of vertical and horizontal water.

Sculpted in steel, a cataract seems to flow into a pond also made of metal. Vertical water represents the energy that powers Norway's industries, mainly the metal and chemical industries. Horizontal water is the sea, exploration, commercial fishing and the Norwegian merchant marine, the third or fourth largest in the world.

Norway makes a valuable contribution to the thematic pavilions, including "Man and the Polar Regions", "Man and Life" and "Man's Creative Genius".

SWEDEN develops the theme "For a more humane way of life" through the extensive use of short film strips projected in a half-open room. Seven topics from the Universal Declaration of Human Rights voted by the UN General Assembly are covered: health, education, employment, housing, social security, recreation and culture, and civil liberty. Sweden has achieved a very high standard in all these areas and is constantly addressing problems of social significance. Successes and failures are discussed without prejudice in the film by Yngve Gamlin and Karsten Wendel.

Sweden's participation in Expo 67 included three thematic pavilions: "Man at Work", "Man and Health" - through the loan of a proton knife - and "Man and the Polar Regions", where films on the life of the Lapp people were shown.

© Expo67 - General Report

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Scandinavie


Scandinavie à l'exposition de Montréal 1967

Architecte(s) : Erik Herlow & Tormod Olesen; Jaakko Paatela; Skarphedin Johanson; Otto Torgersen; Gustaf Lettström

Le pavillon conjoint des cinq pays Scandinaves; Danemark, Finlande, Islande, Norvège et Suéde, a pour thème la Solidarité humaine. Cinq architectes - un pour chacun des pays - ont préparé les plans. Ils ont utilisé des plastiques du Danemark, des poutres de bois laminé de la Finlande, des textiles de l'Islande, des ardoises de la Norvège, de l'acier de la Suède.

Les deux étages du pavillon reposent sur des piliers, au milieu d'un parc de sculptures. Des rampes mobiles permettent aux visiteurs de passer au premier étage, où le grand restaurant Au Soleil de Minuit doté d'une imposante table "smorgas" en laiton poli, une cafétéria et un bar-salon offrent les spécialités gastronomiques des cinq pays.

A l'étage supérieur se trouvent les salles d'exposition. Chacun des
participants y a son secteur où il fait connaître ses traits caractéristiques. Cependant, les éléments sont présentés de manière à illustrer l'unité fondamentale des cultures. L'importance de la coopération internationale est soulignée de façon particulière.

LE DANEMARK a choisi pour thème: "L'Homme, matière première d'un pays développé", thème qu'il traduit en insistant sur la haute compétence des Danois dans tous les domaines de l'activité économique et culturelle.

En vue d'aider le visiteur à mieux saisir le développement de l'idée maîtresse, le professeur Erik Herlow, de l'Académie Royale des Beaux-Arts, a créé un décor propice à la détente.

Des compositions réalisées a partir de produits bruts et semi-ouvrés illustrent le talent indispensable au progrès humain et spécialement à l'agriculture, à l'industrie, aux arts, aux métiers et aux sciences.

Les éléments d'exposition de la section danoise comprennent des "maxi-photos" (9 pieds sur 9 pieds), de Keld Helmer Petersen. Les poèmes ironiques et subtils - intitulés Grooks - de Piet Hein ajoutent une expression verbale aux présentations abstraites.

Au parc des sculptures, à l'extérieur du pavillon, figure une oeuvre en trois sections du grand sculpteur Robert Jacobsen: "Loki et les brandons de discorde".

LA FINLANDE emploie les formes artistiques les plus hardies pour présenter ses réalisations industrielles et culturelles et faire savoir qu'elle est au nombre des quinze pays les plus industrialisés du monde.

Dans la salle d'exposition de l'étage supérieur du pavillon, cinq panneaux géants sont des créations de cinq des plus grands artistes finlandais: Birger Kaipiainen, Laila Pullinen, Timo Sarpaneva, Mme Uhra Simberg-Ehrstrom et Tapio Wirkkala. Des photos et des échantillons de produits finis entourent ces panneaux. Trois artistes finlandais exposent des oeuvres au parc des sculptures.

Le thème de la présentation est "La Finlande créatrice".

L'ISLANDE présente son aspect géographique et, particulièrement, ses volcans, ses geysers et l'utilisation qu'on y fait dans la planification urbaine, notamment à Reykjavik, la capitale, des sources d'eau chaude naturelles. A partir de matériaux fournis par un physicien, un géologue et un ingénieur, l'architecte Skarphedin Johannsen a conçu un ensemble de dessins, de sculptures, de photographies et de céramiques modelées dans la lave, qui illustrent l'histoire de l'Islande, paradis des géologues.

La grande attraction de la participation consiste en un film projeté à l'auditorium DuPont. On y montre comment l'île volcanique de Surtsey a surgi des eaux de l'Atlantique. Des colonnes de vapeur sifflante et des jaillissements de cendre noire fusent dans le ciel. Parfois accompagnée de grêlons et d'éclairs, la lave bouillonne, surgit de l'océan et finalement constitue une ile nouvelle.

La présentation fait connaître l'histoire du peuple islandais, son mode de vie et les progrès de sa technologie. Des dessins illustrent l'arrivée des Vikings et les derniers voyages de Leif Erikson au Groenland.

Des photographies de formations souterraines et d'aménagements en surface - canalisation municipale et culture en serre chaude de légumes, de fleurs et de fruits tropicaux - illustrent l'utilisation des sources d'eau chaude.

LA NORVEGE, en choisissant pour thème "L'Homme et l'eau", souligne son intimité historique avec cet élément. L'architecte Torgensen a joué avec le métal pour exprimer les sous-thèmes: l'eau verticale et l'eau horizontale.

Sculptée dans l'acier, une cataracte semble déferler dans un étang également de métal. Verticale, l'eau représente l'énergie qui alimente les industries principalement l'industrie métallurgique et l'industrie chimique de la Norvège. L'eau horizontale, c'est la mer, les explorations, la pêche commerciale et la marine marchande norvégienne, la troisième ou la quatrième en importance au monde.

La Norvège apporte une précieuse contribution aux pavillons thématiques, entre autres à ceux de "L'Homme et les régions polaires", de "L'Homme et la vie" et du "Génie créateur de l'Homme".

LA SUEDE développe le théine "Pour un mode de vie plus humain" par l'usage abondant de courtes bandes filmées projetées dans une salle mi-ouverte. Sept sujets inscrits dans la Déclaration universelle des droits de l'homme votée par l'Assemblée générale des Nations Unies y sont abordés: santé, instruction, emploi, logement, sécurité sociale, récréation et culture, liberté civile. La Suède a atteint un très haut niveau dans tous ces domaines et ne cesse de se pencher sur les problèmes de portée sociale. Succès et défaites sont évoqués sans préjugé dans le film de Yngve Gamlin et Karsten Wendel.

La participation de la Suède à l'Expo 67 s'étend a trois pavillons thématiques: "L'Homme à l’œuvre", "L'Homme et la santé" - par le prêt d'un couteau a protons - "L'Homme et les régions polaires" où sont projetés des films sur la vie des populations lapones.

© Expo67 - Rapport Général