Back - List of Pavilions

Man questions the Universe - Expo Montreal 1967

Man questions the Universe at the Exhibition Expo Montreal 1967
© expo67
Architect(s) : Affleck, Desbarats, Dimakopoulos, Lebensold & Sise

This pavilion has four sub-themes:

Man, his life, his health

A huge plastic cell, magnified about a million times, occupies the entire centre of this pavilion and runs through all three floors. Films and slides show how animals move, feed and reproduce. The upper floor is reserved for the presentation of the nervous system. A huge replica of the human brain dominates this area.

Man, the planet and space

"Man within the Earth, Man on the Earth and Man above the Earth form the triptych of this theme, in which the ways in which man takes advantage of his surroundings, the effects on man of his environment and his role in transforming nature and his environment are analysed.

Man and the Polar Regions

This pavilion presents the main historical and scientific facts about the Arctic and Antarctic. It does this by means of a wide range of audio-visual techniques: photos, slide and film projections, graphic representations, objects and sound effects. The main area of the pavilion consists of a large, continuously rotating carousel where an 18-minute documentary on the Arctic and Antarctic is projected. It tells the story of what is happening in these far-flung regions of the world, what scientists are doing there and how the native people live there today.

Man and the sea

As soon as you enter the pavilion, a gigantic photographic montage gives you an idea of the fabulous expanse of the seas. The first area of the pavilion is dedicated to navigation. In the second area, visitors can participate in the exciting adventure of underwater exploration. Aquarium, divers, underwater house and diving vehicles complete the presentation.

© Official guide - Terre des Hommes - 1968

Retour - Liste Pavillons

L'homme interroge l'Univers


L'homme interroge l'Univers à l'exposition de Montréal 1967

© expo67
Architecte(s) : Affleck, Desbarats, Dimakopoulos, Lebensold & Sise

Ce pavillon comprend quatre sous-thèmes:

L'Homme, sa vie, sa santé

Une énorme cellule en matière plastique, grossie environ un million de fois, occupe tout le centre de ce pavillon et traverse les trois étages. Des films et des diapositives montrent comment les animaux se déplacent, se nourrissent et se reproduisent. L'étage supérieur est réservé à la présentation du système nerveux. Une immense réplique du cerveau humain domine ce secteur.

L'Homme, la planète et l'espace

"L'Homme au sein de la terre," "L'Homme sur la terre" et "L'Homme au-dessus de la terre" constituent le triptyque, de ce thème où sont analysés les façons dont l'homme tire profit de son entourage, les effets que produisent sur l'homme son milieu ambiant et le rôle qui lui est dévolu de transformer la nature et ce milieu.

L'Homme et les régions polaires

Ce pavillon présente l'essentiel de ce qu'il faut connaître au point de vue historique et scientifique sur l'Arctique et l'Antarctique. Et cela, il le fait au moyen des techniques audio-visuelles les plus variées: photos, projections de diapositives et de films, représentations graphiques, objets, effets sonores. La zone maîtresse du pavillon consiste en un vaste carrousel en rotation continue où l'on projette un document sur l'Arctique et l'Antarctique d'une durée de 18 minutes. On y raconte ce qui se passe dans ces régions du bout du monde, ce qu'y font les hommes de science et comment y vivent aujourd'hui les natifs.

L'Homme et la mer

Dès l'entrée du pavillon un gigantesque montage photographique donne une idée de cette étendue fabuleuse des mers. La première zone du pavillon est consacrée à la navigation. Dans la seconde zone, le visiteur peut participer à cette passionnante aventure de l'exploration sous-marine. Aquarium, plongeurs, maison sous-marine et véhicules de plongée complètent la présentation.

© Guide officiel - Terre des Hommes - 1968