Back - List of Pavilions

Rides - Expo Montreal 1967

Rides at the Exhibition Expo Montreal 1967
© expo67

The Gyrotron, designed by English set designer Sean Kenny, takes you on a flight into space and back down into the bowels of the earth. You soar into outer space, into a world of planets, meteorites and spaceships, and then in a dizzying descent through a volcano you end up in the mouth of a roaring monster. This is an attraction that thrill-seekers will not want to miss.
The entrance to the Téléférique is to the right of the Ronde's entrance square. Its gondolas rise 120 feet into the air, giving a bird's eye view of La Ronde.

The Spiral, whose shape is reminiscent of intercontinental rockets, allows passengers to soar over 300 feet in a doughnut-shaped cabin. This observation tower offers one of the best overviews of Man and His World.

The Roundhouse Minirail is used not only for recreational rides but also to transport visitors through the park. It runs from Fort Edmonton to the Village.

The Pitoune is at the entrance to Fort Edmonton. It is a 1,400 foot long slide in which log-shaped boats float. Initially, the logs are pulled up to a height of 50 feet on conveyors and then dropped into the slide at high speed.

The complex also includes several other rides: the skooter, the bobsled, the calypso, the trabant, the moon trip, the Airbone, the Hofbrauhaus, etc. Every hour, 19,000 people can use the various rides.

© Official Guide - Terre des Hommes -1968

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Manèges


Manèges à l'exposition de Montréal 1967

© expo67

Le Gyrotron conçu par le décorateur anglais Sean Kenny vous entraîne dans une envolée spatiale pour redescendre dans les entrailles de la terre. Vous vous élevez vers les espaces sidéraux, dans un monde peuplé de planètes, météorites et vaisseaux spatiaux, puis dans une descente vertigineuse au sein d'un volcan vous aboutissez dans la gueule d'un monstre rugissant. C'est une attraction que les amateurs d'émotions fortes ne voudront pas manquer.
L'entrée du Téléférique est à la droite de la Place d'entrée de la Ronde. Ses nacelles s'élèvent à 120 pieds dans les airs donnant ainsi une vue d'ensemble de La Ronde.

La Spirale, dont la forme rappelle celle des fusées intercontinentales, permet aux passagers de s'élever à plus de 300 pieds dans une cabine en forme de beignet. Cette tour d'observation offre une des meilleures vues d'ensemble que l'on puisse avoir de Terre des Hommes.

Le Minirail de la Ronde sert non seulement aux promenades récréatives mais également au transport des visiteurs à travers le parc. Il va du Fort Edmonton au Village.

La Pitoune est à l'entrée du Fort Edmonton. Il s'agit d'une longue glissoire de 1,400 pieds dans laquelle flottent des embarcations en forme de billot. Au départ, les billots sont tirés sur convoyeurs jusqu'à une hauteur de 50 pieds, puis lâchés à grande vitesse dans la glissoire.

L'ensemble compte aussi plusieurs autres manèges: le skooter, le bobsled, le calypso, le trabant, le voyage à la lune, l'Airbone, le Hofbrauhaus, etc. A chaque heure, 19,000 personnes peuvent utiliser les différents manèges.

© Guide Officiel - Terre des Hommes -1968