Back - List of Pavilions

Laterna Magica - Expo Montreal 1967

Laterna Magica at the Exhibition Expo Montreal 1967
© expo67

The Laterna Magika was created in 1958 by Alfred Radock for the Brussels World Fair. It won the gold medal. It was later installed in a theatre in Prague, where it quickly became one of the city's main attractions.

The Laterna Magika travelled all over the world, presenting the same programme as in Brussels: Moscow, Leningrad, London Vienna, Zurich, New York, Damascus, Cairo, Brussels again and many other European cities.

A new programme was created for Expo 67. It consisted of two shows: the first, the "Gay Palette", consisted of classic attractions created for Brussels, the second, the "Revue from the box", was created for Expo 67 by Jiri Prochazka and Ladislav Rychman.

Two teams of technicians and three groups of artists presented twelve shows a day; all collaborators were Czech.


DESCRIPTION

Its admirers call it expanding cinema, cinema on stage, combined cinema, multi-channel media mixing, Sensorama simulator, cine-drome, McLuhanism.

Those in the business have called it cineorama, polyvalent total theatre, Laterna Magika, poly-screen cinema. It is an attempt to go beyond classical cinema and to give expression to the true, hyper-technological, universal and complex art of our time.

The Czechoslovak Laterna Magika is a new artistic concept. It is a performance that combines theatre and cinema and encompasses music, visual arts, architecture, literature and ballet. Actors, dancers and musicians appear on stage and, simultaneously, on screen; other essential factors of the performance are text, songs, music, light and colour, dance and visual arts.

Film is used in a number of ways; it represents the stage, it situates the action within the subject, it is projected simultaneously onto a number of screens which may appear and disappear as the action requires. The film highlights the actor's activity on the stage and sets the pace of the action.

One of the most notable innovations is that of polyprojection. Not only do the dimensions of the screen constantly vary according to the needs of the plot, but the plot also benefits from the simultaneous projection of different subjects on screens, or portions of screens, placed here and there.

The theatre could accommodate 600 spectators.

© Expo67 - General Report

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Laterna Magica


Laterna Magica à l'exposition de Montréal 1967

© expo67

La Laterna Magika a été créée en 1958 par Alfred Radock a l'occasion de l'Exposition universelle de Bruxelles. Elle y remporta la médaille d'or. Elle fut installée par la suite dans un théâtre à Prague, où elle devint rapidement une des principales attractions de la ville.

La Laterna Magika a parcouru le monde entier, présentant partout le même programme qu'à Bruxelles: Moscou, Leningrad, Londres Vienne, Zurich, New York, Damas, Le Caire, Bruxelles de nouveau et bien d'autres villes européennes.

Un nouveau programme avait été créé pour l'Expo 67. Il comportait deux spectacles: le premier, la "Palette joyeuse" ("Gay palette") était constitué d'attractions classiques créées pour Bruxelles, le second, la "Boite à revues" ("Revue from the box") avait été créé pour l'Expo 67 par Jiri Prochazka et Ladislav Rychman.

Deux équipes de techniciens et trois groupes d'artistes présentaient douze spectacles par jour; tous les collaborateurs étaient tchèque


DESCRIPTION

Ses admirateurs l'appellent cinéma en expansion, cinéma sur scène, cinéma combiné, mixage de média à. canaux multiples, Sensorama simulateur, cinédrome, McLuhanisme.

Les gens du métier pour leur part l'ont appelé cinéorama, polyvalent théâtre total, Laterna Magika, cinéma polyécran. C'est une tentative en vue de dépasser le cinéma classique et de donner l'expression à l'art véritable, hyper-technologique, universel et complexe de notre époque.

La Laterna Magika tchécoslovaque est une notion artistique nouvelle C'est une représentation qui combine théâtre et cinéma et englobe musique, arts plastiques, architecture, littérature et ballet. Les acteurs, danseurs et musiciens apparaissent sur scène et, simultanément, à l'écran; les autres facteurs essentiels de la représentation sont le texte, les chansons, la musique, la lumière et les couleurs, la danse et les arts plastiques.

Le film est utilisé de plusieurs façons; il représente la scène, il situe l'action dans le sujet, il est projeté simultanément sur plusieurs écrans qui peuvent apparaître et disparaître selon les besoins de l'action. Le film met en relief l'activité de l'acteur sur la scène et détermine le rythme de l'action.

L'une des innovations les plus notables est celle de la polyprojection, Non seulement les dimensions de l'écran varient constamment selon les besoins de l'intrigue, mais encore l'intrigue bénéficie-t-elle de la projection simultanée de différents sujets sur des écrans, ou des portions d'écrans, disposés ça et la.

Le théâtre pouvait accueillir 600 spectateurs.

© Rapport Général Expo'67