Back - List of Pavilions

Gyrotron - Expo Montreal 1967

Gyrotron at the Exhibition Expo Montreal 1967
© expo67

The Gyrotron consisted of two lattice structures, a 217 foot high pyramid and the smaller Volcano, both connected by a walkway.

Passengers boarded four abreast in small gondolas that spiralled to the top of the pyramid, where they were immersed in meteorites and satellites.

There they heard the characteristic sounds of space travel, including the countdown to the launch of a rocket and the beeping of satellites. Three-dimensional spaceships moved around them, while stars and galaxies were projected onto the black walls.

Passengers then took in a panoramic view of Expo as their gondola crossed the bridge connecting the pyramid to the second structure - a "volcano" - from which smoke was billowing. The "flames" shot out of the walls made of moving fibreglass curtains. The gondola then plunged 70 feet into the "boiling lava", with a concert of hissing sounds, escaping fumes, sudden explosions and a "rain" of rocks.

Finally, the passengers were "swallowed" at the bottom of the volcano by a huge monster straddling the track. Some three thousand passengers could travel at a speed of 200 feet per minute. The Gyrotron adventure lasted a total of six minutes.


Designed by Kenny Sean, this $300,000,000 attraction was the most spectacular ride at the exhibition.

© Expo67 - General Report

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Gyrotron


Gyrotron à l'exposition de Montréal 1967

© expo67

Le Gyrotron comportait deux structures en treillis, une pyramide de 217 pieds de haut et le Volcan, plus petit; les deux étant reliées par une passerelle.

Les passagers s'embarquaient a quatre de front dans de petites nacelles grimpant en spirale jusqu'au sommet de la pyramide, ou ils étaient plongés au milieu de météorites et de satellites.

Ils y entendaient les bruits caractéristiques du voyage dans l'espace, dont le compte a rebours, le lancement d'une fusée et les "bips" des satellites. Des vaisseaux spatiaux tri-dimensionnels évoluaient autour d'eux, alors qu'étoiles et galaxies étaient projetées sur les murs noirs.

Les passagers emportaient ensuite une vision panoramique de l'Expo pendant que leur nacelle traversait le pont reliant la pyramide a la deuxième structure - un "volcan" - d'où s'échappait la fumée. Les "flammes" jaillissaient des murs constitués de rideaux mouvants en fibre de verre. La nacelle plongeait ensuite à 70 pieds de profondeur dans la "lave en ébullition", dans un concert de sifflements, d'échappement de vapeurs, d'explosions soudaines et sous une "pluie" de roches.

Enfin, les passagers étaient "avalés", au fond du volcan, par un monstre énorme planté à califourchon sur la voie. Quelque trois mille passagers pouvaient voyager a une vitesse de 200 pieds a la minute. L'aventure du Gyrotron durait au total six minutes.


Conçu par Kenny Sean, cette attraction de 3000000$, était l'attraction la plus spectaculaire de l'exposition.

© Rapport Général Expo'67