World and International Exhibition Montreal 1967 - Expo67

Man and his Universe

April 28, 1967 - October 29, 1967


Back - List of Pavilions

Olympic House

Olympic House at the Exhibition Expo Montreal 1967

© expo67

Architect(s) : Chadwick, Pope & Edge

The Canadian Olympic Association presents an exhibition on the theme of "Man at Play". The main objects offered to the visitors' admiration come from the Olympic Academy (Greece), and the International Olympic Museum in Lausanne. Most of the committees from 126 countries are collaborating.

A courtyard with a glass ceiling is reminiscent of the "study gardens" of the ancient Greeks; a monumental interpretation of the Olympic torch is among the most captivating displays.

The Olympic House is a building constructed entirely of pre-cast concrete and left in its natural state inside and out. The architects were able to achieve a mid-level floor plan of 8,500 square feet on the ground and mezzanine floors and 2,125 square feet under the mezzanine floor for the pavilion administration. Approximately 20 per cent of the area is devoted to exhibition elements and circulation.

The statue of Finnish Paavo Nurmi - three-time Olympic winner - welcomes visitors. Inside the pavilion there are other sculptures on loan from the USA, Greece, Japan, Switzerland and the USSR. A Montrealer himself lent the statue of two Roman gladiators. Flags representing the 26 Olympic sports fly over the house.

The Olympic House is what the Olympic Association of Canada has long dreamed of establishing: a centre where the true Olympic spirit shines. The pavilion's managers have inscribed the following words from the renovator of the Olympic Games at the entrance to the pavilion: "The important thing in life is not to win, but to fight well".

Olympic House is sponsored by the Hudson's Bay Company, the Foundation Company Limited and the City of Montreal.

© Expo67 - General Report

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Maison Olympique


Maison Olympique à l'exposition de Montréal 1967

© expo67
Architecte(s) : Chadwick, Pope & Edge

L'Association Olympique du Canada présente une exposition qui a pour thème "L'homme au jeu". Les principaux objets offerts a l'admiration des visiteurs proviennent de l'Académie Olympique {de Grèce), et du Musée Olympique international de Lausanne. La plupart des comités de 126 pays apportent leur collaboration.

Une cour avec plafond vitré rappelle "les jardins d'étude" des anciens Grecs; une interprétation monumentale du flambeau olympique est au nombre des présentations les plus captivantes.

La Maison Olympique est un bâtiment entièrement construit en béton précoulé laissé a l'état naturel a l'intérieur comme a l'extérieur. Les architectes ont réussi a accomplir un plan a mi-niveau de 8,500 pieds carrés au rez-de-chaussée et à l'entresol et de 2125 pieds carrés sous l'entresol, pour l'administration du pavillon. Environ 20 pour cent de la superficie est consacrée aux éléments d'exposition et à la circulation.

La statue du Finlandais Paavo Nurmi - trois fois vainqueur aux jeux Olympiques - accueille les visiteurs. A l'intérieur du pavillon se trouvent d'autres sculptures prêtées par les Etats-Unis, la Grèce, le Japon, la Suisse et l'URSS. Un Montréalais a lui-même prêté la statue de deux gladiateurs romains. Au-dessus flottent des drapeaux représentant les 26 sports olympiques.

La Maison Olympique est ce que l'Association Olympique du Canada a longtemps rêvé d'établir: un centre d'oïl rayonne le véritable esprit olympique. Les responsables du pavillon ont d'ailleurs inscrit des l'entrée cette phrase du rénovateur des Jeux Olympiques: "L'important n'est pas d'y gagner mais d'y prendre part car l'essentiel, dans la vie, n'est pas de conquérir mais de bien lutter".

La Maison Olympique est une commandite de la Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson, de la Compagnie Fondation Limitée et de la Ville de Montréal.

© Expo67 - Rapport Général