Back - List of Pavilions

Habitat 67 - Expo Montreal 1967

Habitat 67 at the Exhibition Expo Montreal 1967
© expo67
Architect(s) : Moshe Safdie & David, Barott, Boulva

Since man left the cave, he has known several forms of shelter: the hut, the tent of animal skins, the log cabin and the stone house.

From these dwellings, usually clustered near the water, came the village and then the town.

Today, Habitat 67 in the Cité du Havre near the Habitat Expo-Express station, gives a fair and great idea of the ingenuity with which man has been able to build himself a shelter with all the attributes of modernism, in an urban setting where space is precious as gold. Habitat 67 offers the advantages of concierge living, where many families can be accommodated in a small space, and those of suburban living, thanks to its gardens. Finally, each home is close to the shops that are essential to daily life, which can be accessed via routes that are protected from the elements.

In the eyes of visitors. Habitat 67 is a collection of terraces on top of each other and set back from each other on twelve floors. What characterises this new housing complex is the way in which the terraces and flats are arranged in a way that preserves the economy of the construction, and the set of streets and passages that serve each home on all levels.

The housing area has 158 dwellings of 20 different types, from the 600 sq. ft. (just under 200 m2 ) one-bedroom apartment, to a 1,700 sq. ft. (more than 500 m2 ) with four bedrooms. 354 modules, each 17 ft. 6 in. by 38 ft. 6 in. (12 metres) by 10 ft. high (3 metres), made of precast concrete were used for construction. After the modules were poured, the kitchens, bathrooms, insulation, appliances, etc. were integrated.

The houses are arranged in such a way that the garden of each house rests on the roof of the one below. Each garden is provided with flowerbeds, all watered and fertilised from the same source. The occupant chooses the flowers and plants he prefers.

On the ground floor, a network of paths connects the services and parking lots. Above this, pedestrian walkways have been laid out, providing access to all parts of the complex via bridges and walkways.

The pedestrian never has to cross the service roads. The floors are accessed by three lifts housed in three shafts. There are parks on the fifth and ninth floors for small children who cannot go alone to the park their elders have at ground level.

Through its bold design and ingenuity in every detail. Habitat 67 makes an important contribution to the study of man in the city.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Habitat 67


Habitat 67 à l'exposition de Montréal 1967

© expo67
Architecte(s) : Moshe Safdie & David, Barott, Boulva

Depuis que l'homme a quitté la caverne, il a connu plusieurs formes d'abris: la hutte, la tente de peaux de bête, la cabane de bois rond et la maison de pierre.

De ces habitations, généralement groupées près de l'eau, sont nés le village, puis la ville.

Aujourd'hui, Habitat 67 dans la Cité du Havre près de la station Expo-Express de l'Habitat, donne une juste et grande idée de l'ingéniosité avec laquelle l'homme a su se construire un abri pourvu de tous les attributs du modernisme, dans un cadre urbain où l'espace est précieux comme l'or. Habitat 67 offre les avantages de la vie en conciergerie, où de nombreuses familles peuvent se loger dans un espace restreint, et ceux de la vie en banlieue, grâce à ses jardins. Enfin, chaque domicile se trouve à proximité des magasins essentiels à la vie quotidienne, auxquels on a accès par des voies à l'abri des éléments.

Aux yeux des visiteurs. Habitat 67 se présente comme un ensemble de terrasses superposées et en retrait, disposées sur douze étages. Ce qui caractérise ce nouveau complexe d'habitation, c'est d'une part la façon dont terrasses et appartements sont agencés pour sauvegarder l'économie de la construction, et d'autre part l'ensemble des rues et des passages qui desservent chaque domicile à tous les paliers.

La superficie d'habitation compte 158 logements de 20 types différents, depuis l'appartement de 600 pi. ca. (un peu moins de 200 m2) à une chambre, au domicile de 1 700 pi. ca. (plus de 500 m2) à quatre chambres. 354 modules, chacun de 17 pi. 6 po., (5 mètres) sur 38 pi. 6 po. (12 mètres) sur 10 pi. de hauteur (3 mètres), en béton préfabriqué ont servi à la construction. Après avoir coulé les modules, on y a intégré les cuisines, salles de bains, l'isolation, les appareils, etc.

Les habitations sont disposées de telle façon que le jardin de chacune repose sur le toit de celle d'en-dessous. Chaque jardin est pourvu de plates-bandes toutes arrosées et fertilisées d'une même source. L'occupant choisit les fleurs et les plantes qu'il préfère.

Au rez-de-chaussée, un réseau de voies relie les services et les stationnements. Au-dessus, on a aménagé des voies de piétons par .lesquelles on a accès à toutes les parties de l'ensemble grâce à des ponts et à des passerelles.

Le piéton n'a jamais à traverser les voies de service. On accède aux étages par trois ascenseurs logés dans trois puits. On a aménagé des parcs aux. cinquième et neuvième étages pour les petits enfants qui ne peuvent aller seuls au parc dont leurs aînés disposent au niveau du sol.

Par sa conception audacieuse et l'ingéniosité de ses moindres détails. Habitat 67 apporte une importante contribution à l'étude de l'homme dans la cité.