Back - List of Pavilions

United Arab Republic - Expo Montreal 1967

United Arab Republic at the Exhibition Expo Montreal 1967
© expo67

The United Arab Republic prides itself as much on its millennia-old past as on its current achievements, which affect all sectors of the country's economic and social life. These themes are illustrated in a pavilion, where an infinite number of models and panels have been grouped together to enlighten the visitor on the different aspects of the country, all of which is complemented by colour film footage.

The visitor first of all takes a real walk through Pharaonic Egypt. They are introduced to the way of life of the Egyptians of 5000 years ago, their monumental architecture, their musical instruments, their weaving looms, their domestic economy, their workshops and their irrigation system.

Life-size reproductions of the unique pieces that make up the fabulous treasure of All-Ank-Amon are placed in this area. One can see masks of the king, objects of worship or domestic use. These pieces are next to statues of the goddesses Hathor and Isis, Pharaohs Thutmose and Akhenaten and other illustrious figures.

The visitor can also admire modern Egypt and its prodigious development, which extends to all branches of its agricultural and industrial economy. The Aswan Dam, a grandiose work that was to make vast tracts of arid land suitable for cultivation, is given pride of place.

Projects for the digging and widening of the Suez Canal are also highlighted, to cope with the continuous increase in traffic through this important waterway.

Finally, a section of the pavilion is devoted to the extremely varied range of products of heavy and light industry: steelworks, sugar factories, food industry, textiles, perfumery, appliances for domestic use as well as Egyptian handicraft.

© Expo67 - General Report

Retour - Liste Pavillons

République Arabe Unie


République Arabe Unie à l'exposition de Montréal 1967

© expo67

La République Arabe Unie s'enorgueillit autant de son passé plusieurs fois millénaires que de ses réalisations actuelles, qui touchent tous les secteurs de la vie économique et sociale du pays. Ces thèmes trouvent leur illustration dans un pavillon, ou l'on a groupé une infinité de maquettes et de panneaux, propres a éclairer le visiteur sur les différents aspects du pays, le tout complété par des films cinématographiques en couleur.

Le visiteur fait tout d'abord une véritable promenade a travers l'Egypte pharaonique. Il fait ainsi connaissance avec le mode de vie des Egyptiens d'il y a 5000 ans, leur architecture monumentale, leurs instruments de musique, leurs métiers à tisser, leur économie domestique, leurs ateliers et leur système d'irrigation.

Des reproductions, grandeur nature, de pièces uniques qui composent le trésor fabuleux de Tout-Ank-Amon, sont placées dans ce secteur. On peut voir des masques du roi, des objets de culte ou d'usage domestique. Ces pièces voisinent avec des statues des déesses Hathor et Isis, des pharaons Thoutmosis et Akhénaton et autres personnages illustres.

Le visiteur peut aussi admirer l'Egypte moderne et son essor prodigieux, qui s'étend sur toutes les branches de son économie agricole et industrielle. Une place prépondérante est consacrée au barrage d'Assouan, œuvre grandiose qui doit rendre a la culture d'immenses étendues de terre aride.

L'on s'attache également à souligner des projets de creusage et d'élargissement du canal de Suez, pour faire face a l'accroissement continuel du trafic a travers cette importante voie d ' eau.

Enfin, une section du pavillon est consacrée à la gamme extrêmement variée des produits de l'industrie lourde et légère: aciéries, sucreries, industrie alimentaire, textiles, parfumerie, appareils pour usage domestique ainsi qu'a l'artisanat égyptien.

© Expo67 - Rapport Général