Back - List of Pavilions

Kuwait - Expo Montreal 1967

Kuwait at the Exhibition Expo Montreal 1967
© expo67

Kuwait is an Arab country whose dynamism has often been praised. It strives to reconcile technological progress with respect for Islamic traditions.

The pavilion offers a retrospective of the achievements of Kuwait, whose inhabitants were bold navigators who once transported the country's products - including coffee - in typical ships to markets in India.

Today, Kuwait has one of the best organised airlines in the world, and its influence is illustrated by means of graphics and paintings.

Pictorial elements and models enlighten the visitor on the development of the oil industry - Kuwait's primary industry and the main source of its wealth - the chemical, electrical, wood and marble industries. A place is reserved for jewellery.

The social welfare programme developed by the State, which has decreed absolute free education and medical care, is also highlighted by means of appropriate exhibits. Kuwaiti citizens are offered the possibility of owning their own home, with the option of paying for it in instalments over a period of 30 years.

Finally, a special section is devoted to the future of the Kuwaiti people and the projects that are to be undertaken, including the construction of highways and an underground metro system.

© Expo67 - General Report

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Koweït


Koweït à l'exposition de Montréal 1967

© expo67

Le Koweït est un pays arabe dont on a souvent vanté le dynamisme. Il s'efforce de concilier les progrès technologiques avec le respect des traditions islamiques.

Le pavillon offre une rétrospective des réalisations du Koweït, dont les habitants, hardis navigateurs, transportaient jadis les produits du pays - notamment le café - à bord de bâtiments typiques pour les écouler sur les marchés de l'Inde.

Aujourd'hui, le Koweït possède une ligne aérienne des mieux organisées, dont on illustre le rayonnement au moyen de graphiques et de tableaux.

Des éléments picturaux et des maquettes éclairent le visiteur sur le développement de l'industrie pétrolière - la première du Koweït et la source principale de ses richesses - des industries chimiques, électriques, du bois et du marbre. Une place est réservée aux bijoux.

On s'attache également a mettre en évidence, au moyen d'éléments d'exposition appropriés, le programme d'assistance sociale élaboré par l'Etat, qui a décrété la gratuité absolue, tant dans le secteur de l'instruction que dans celui des soins médicaux. Aux citoyens koweïtiens, on offre le moyen d'avoir leur propre maison, avec faculté de la payer par paiements échelonnés sur une période de 30 ans.

Enfin, un secteur spécial est consacré a l'avenir du peuple koweïtien et aux projets qu'on se propose de mettre en chantier, notamment par la construction d'autoroutes et d'un réseau métropolitain souterrain.

© Expo67 - Rapport Général