Back - List of Pavilions

Chatelaine House - Expo Montreal 1967

Chatelaine House at the Exhibition Expo Montreal 1967
© Chatelaine
Architect(s) : Gustavo da Roza

Man and his home" is the theme of a pavilion in the shape of an "S", built entirely of wood. It was commissioned jointly by Chatelaine magazine and the Canadian Wood Industry Association.

There are no windows in the side walls, but the projecting façade is entirely glazed. It is protected by a roof that generously overhangs it and by two screen walls that not only filter the sun's rays, but also mitigate the rigours of winter.

Particularly noteworthy is the judicious use of the famous Eastern Canadian white pine, with its exposed ribs, and red pine for the exterior and interior cladding. At Chatelaine, everything is Canadian: materials, furnishings and decoration.

The ensemble is sober and fully integrated into the landscaping. The layout of the balconies and terraces is arranged according to the orientation of the rooms.

In order to create an impression of space, the architect placed the master bedroom so that it opens onto the living room, which is largely lit by a window that extends over two floors. The layout of the living room, the kitchen, the terrace and, above all, the handyman's workshop, the planter's corner and the storeroom, is fully functional.

The heating, air-conditioning and incineration equipment is extremely sophisticated.

Next to the Chatelaine House, a small building houses an information centre for home design and decoration. The administration offices are also located here.

© Expo67 - General Report

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Maison Châtelaine


Maison Châtelaine à l'exposition de Montréal 1967

© Chatelaine
Architecte(s) : Gustavo da Roza

"L'homme et son foyer" est le thème d'un pavillon en forme de S?encastré et entièrement construit en bois. Il s'agit d'une commande?dite conjointe de la revue Châtelaine et de l'Association canadienne? de l'Industrie du bois.

Les murs latéraux ne comportent pas de fenêtre; par contre, la façade en saillie est entièrement vitrée. Elle est d'ailleurs protégée par un toit qui la surplombe généreusement et par deux murs-écrans qui ont la propriété, non seulement de tamiser les rayons du soleil, mais aussi d'atténuer les rigueurs de l'hiver.

On remarque tout particulièrement l'usage judicieux du fameux pin blanc de l'est du Canada, aux nervures apparentes, et du pin rouge, pour les revêtements extérieurs et intérieurs. A la maison Châtelaine, tout est canadien; matériaux, ameublement et décoration.

L'ensemble est sobre et s'intègre pleinement a l'aménagement paysager. La disposition des balcons et des terrasses est agencée d'après l'orientation des pièces.

Afin de créer une impression d'espace, l'architecte a placé la chambre des maîtres de façon 'à ce qu'elle s'ouvre sur la salle de séjour largement éclairée par une fenêtre qui se prolonge sur deux étages. L'aménagement du salon, de la cuisine, de la terrasse et surtout de l'atelier du bricoleur, du coin de la jardinière et du cellier, est tout à fait fonctionnel.

Les appareils de chauffage, de climatisation et d'incinération sont extrêmement perfectionnés.

Près de la maison Châtelaine, une petite construction abrite un centre de renseignements consacré a l'aménagement domiciliaire et à. la décoration. On y trouve également les bureaux de l'administration.

© Expo67 - Rapport Général