Back - List of Pavilions

Place of Africa - Expo Montreal 1967

Place of Africa at the Exhibition Expo Montreal 1967
© expo67
Architect(s) : John Andrews

The Place of Africa is ideally located and is bordered by canals on three sides. The landscaping is an integral part of the whole. The colourful square is slightly stepped, entirely paved with red bricks and decorated here and there with tropical trees and shrubs. Small red brick pavilions with yellow and white roofs surround it.

Flagpoles with flags stand in front of the pavilions. The Place of Africa, a very flexible area, is equipped with snack bars and terrace bars with tables topped with brightly coloured parasols. A lounge in a special building is available to the sectional Commissioners-General, their deputies and their guests. This lounge is also used for press conferences and various events.

In the Place of Africa, countries have the opportunity to express their own character and culture in a separate pavilion. Together, they form a remarkable panorama of modern Africa. Fifteen countries are present. They are Cameroon, Chad, Democratic Republic of Congo, Côte d'Ivoire, Gabon, Ghana, Kenya, Madagascar, Niger, Nigeria, Uganda, Rwanda, Senegal, Tanzania and Togo.

The very attractive Place of Africa is a revelation to the public, with one area devoted to an exhibition of paintings by school children. This exhibition was set up in conjunction with the African Institute for Education and Humanism. What generally makes the strongest impression is the artistry of the African people, their handicrafts, their dances, their sense of rhythm and music. The dazzling national costumes are also admired.

The extraordinary diversity of the African regions is illustrated by the presentations. Countries of oceans, giant rivers, cataracts, huge lakes, steppes, high mountains and forests, they possess infinite natural wealth: fisheries, agriculture, livestock and wildlife, textile plants, precious woods, white coal, mineral deposits.

Art is another richness and young Africa presents works of masters in painting, tapestry, sculpture and jewellery.

Among the greatest artists who have been involved in the decoration of the pavilions are Diouf Moussa and Charles Mwenze, who have executed extraordinary frescoes in the pavilion of the Democratic Republic of Congo; Maître Combes with his sculptures and Christian Lattier with his original compositions made of rope, both from the Ivory Coast; the painters Bou Diouf and Papa Didi Diop from Senegal. In the pavilion of the latter country, one can admire the rich tapestries of Papa Ibra Tall, who has also executed remarkable paintings for the pavilion on the theme Man in the City.

So many sculptures and art objects of all kinds are on display but are not signed! Their authors are great anonymous artists of whom Africa has reason to be proud.

On the other hand, small-scale industry is honoured with pieces of ceramics, basketry, objects of everyday use, leather, furniture, hammered and chiselled copper, collections of weapons, sumptuous fabrics and furs. Visitors can admire the craftsmen at work.

Black Africa is showing many other aspects of its activity, including the improvement of social conditions and the expansion of the economy. It displays samples of its raw and finished products, as it is no longer confined to the production of raw materials but has more and more processing plants.

Through photographs, slides, films and models, the visitor can admire port facilities, large modern cities, beaches and other places of tourism and recreation, small picturesque villages. They can take part in a safari and see the magnificent landscapes of a continent with a thousand tourist attractions. Many countries have major railways, excellent road networks and modern airports.

Africa is also moving forward in education and culture. It has its writers and especially its poets; does it not have them among its heads of state? It has its institutions of higher learning. It has the art of marrying the forces of man with those of nature.

© Expo67 - General Report

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Place d'Afrique


Place d'Afrique à l'exposition de Montréal 1967

© expo67
Architecte(s) : John Andrews

Située dans un cadre idéal, la Place d'Afrique est bordée de canaux, de trois côtés. L'aménagement paysager fait partie intégrante de l'ensemble. Haute en couleur, la Place est légèrement étagée, entièrement pavée de briques rouges et ornée, ça et la, d'arbres et d'arbustes tropicaux. De petits pavillons de briques rouges aux toits jaunes et blancs l'entourent.

Des hampes arborant des drapeaux se dressent devant les pavillons. La Place d'Afrique, ensemble d'une grande souplesse, est pourvue de casse-croûte et de bars-terrasses aux tables surmontées d'ombrelles aux teintes vives. Dans un bâtiment prévu a cet effet, un salon est a la disposition des Commissaires généraux de section, de leurs adjoints et de leurs invités. Ce salon sert également aux conférences de presse et à diverses manifestations.

A la Place d'Afrique, les pays ont l'occasion d'exprimer leur caractère particulier et leur culture propre, dans le cadre d'un pavillon distinct. L'ensemble constitue un remarquable panorama de l'Afrique moderne. Quinze pays sont présents. Ce sont le Cameroun, la République démocratique du Congo, la Côte d'Ivoire, le Gabon, le Ghana, le Kenya, Madagascar, le Niger, le Nigeria, l'Uganda, le Rwanda, le Sénégal, la Tanzanie, le Tchad et le Togo.

La très attrayante Place d'Afrique est une révélation pour le public, Un secteur est consacré a une exposition de peintures exécutées par des écoliers. Cette exposition fut montée de concert avec l'Institut africain pour l'Education et l'Humanisme, Ce qui, de façon générale, crée la plus forte impression, c'est le sens artistique des populations africaines, leurs réalisations artisanales, leurs danses, leur sens du rythme et de la musique. Les éblouissants costumes nationaux suscitent également l'admiration.

L'extraordinaire diversité des régions africaines est illustrée par les présentations. Pays des océans, des fleuves géants, des cataractes, des lacs immenses, des steppes, des hautes montagnes et des forêts, ils possèdent d'infinies richesses naturelles: pêcheries, agriculture, animaux d'élevage et animaux sauvages, plantes textiles, bois précieux, houille blanche, gisements miniers.

L'art est une autre richesse et la jeune Afrique présente des oeuvres de maîtres de la peinture, de la tapisserie, de la sculpture, de la joaillerie.

Parmi les plus grands artistes qui se sont manifestés dans la décoration des pavillons, citons Diouf Moussa et Charles Mwenze, qui ont exécuté des fresques extraordinaires au pavillon de la République démocratique du Congo; Maître Combes avec ses sculptures et Christian Lattier avec ses originales compositions faites de corde, tous deux de la Cote d'Ivoire; les peintres Bou Diouf et Papa Didi Diop du Sénégal. Au pavillon de ce dernier pays, on peut admirer de riches tapisseries de Papa Ibra Tall qui a de plus exécuté des peintures remarquables a l'intention du pavillon du thème l'Homme dans la Cité.

Que de sculptures, que d'objets d'art de tout genre sont en montre mais ne sont pas signés! Leurs auteurs sont de grands artistes anonymes dont l'Afrique a lieu d'être fière.

De son côté, la petite industrie est a l'honneur avec des pièces de céramique, de vannerie, des objets d'usage courant, des cuirs, des meubles, des cuivres martelés et ciselés, des collections d'armes, de somptueux tissus, des fourrures. Les visiteurs peuvent admirer les artisans au travail.

L'Afrique noire fait connaître bien d'autres aspects de son activité, entre autres, l'amélioration des conditions sociales et l'expansion de l'économie. Elle étale des échantillons de ses produits bruts et de ses produits finis, car elle ne se confine plus à la production de matières premières mais possède des usines de transformation de plus en plus nombreuses et importantes.

Grâce a des photographies, ci des diapositives, "k des films, a des maquettes, le visiteur peut admirer des installations portuaires, de grandes villes modernes, des plages et autres lieux de tourisme et de villégiature, de petits villages pittoresques. Il peut assister à. un safari et voir défiler les grandioses paysages d'un continent aux mille attraits touristiques. Plusieurs pays sont dotés de grandes lignes de chemin de fer, d'excellents réseaux routiers, d'aéroports modernes.

L'Afrique va également de l'avant, en ce qui concerne l'enseignement et la culture. Elle a se s écrivains et particulièrement ses poètes; n'en compte-t-elle pas parmi ses chefs d'Etat? Elle a ses institutions de haut savoir. Elle possède l'art de marier les forces de l'homme à celles de la nature.

© Expo67 - Rapport Général