Century 21 Exposition - Seattle 1962

Man in the age of space travel

April 21, 1962 - October 21, 1962


Back - List of Pavilions

Bureau International des Expositions (BIE)

Bureau International des Expositions (BIE) at the Exhibition Seattle 1962

© Courtesy of The Seattle Public Library ( http://www.spl.org/ )

The BIE has greatly appreciated the willingness of the organisers of the Seattle Exhibition to bring this important event into conformity with the rules contained in the Convention of 22 November 1928, and has followed with the greatest attention the efforts made to organise this exhibition.

It was therefore with pleasure, taking into account the results obtained, that the Administrative Council, at its 47th session on November 8, 1960, authorised its members to take part in this exhibition of particular interest because it is intended to set out in advance the scientific aspects of the world of tomorrow.

The Council therefore implicitly expressed its encouragement and wishes to "Century 21 Exposition", to enable it to achieve success through its exhibitors and visitors.

The good intentions of the BIE were further demonstrated by the acceptance of the invitation of the exhibition authorities to set up an exhibition illustrating the role and activities of the BIE, thus departing from the rule that had been observed until then; to refrain from being present at international exhibitions, even those officially registered with the Bureau.

Article based on Official Books Seattle World's Fair 1962

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Bureau International des Expositions (BIE)


Bureau International des Expositions (BIE) à l'exposition de Seattle 1962

© Courtesy of The Seattle Public Library ( http://www.spl.org/ )

Le BIE a très apprécié la volonté des organisateurs de l'Exposition de Seattle de mettre cette importante manifestation en conformité avec les règles contenues dans la Convention du 22 Novembre 1928, et il a suivi avec la plus grande attention les efforts affichés pour l'organisation de cette expo.

C'est donc avec plaisir, en tenant compte des résultats obtenus,que le conseil d'administration, dans le cadre de sa 47e session, du 8 Novembre 1960, a autorisé ses membres à prendre part à cette exposition d'un intérêt particulier car elle est destinée à exposer à l'avance les aspects scientifiques du monde de demain.

Le Conseil a donc implicitement exprimé ses encouragements et souhaits à "Century 21 Exposition", afin de lui permettre d'atteindre le succès par ses exposants et ses visiteurs.

Les bonnes intentions du BIE ont en outre été prouvées par l'acceptation de l'invitation des autorités de l'exposition de mettre en place, une exposition illustrant le rôle et les activités du BIE, dérogeant ainsi à la règle qui avait été jusque-là observée ; s'abstenir d'être présent lors des expositions internationales, même celles qui sont officiellement enregistrées auprès du Bureau.

Article rédigé à partir des livres Official Books Seattle World's Fair 1962