Back - List of Pavilions

Government of the Philippines - Expo Seattle 1962

Government of the Philippines at the Exhibition Expo Seattle 1962
© Museum of History & Industry, Seattle ( http://www.seattlehistory.org/ )

At the northern end of the International Zone, the Philippine Pavilion presents a comprehensive portrait of a people building a nation. The Philippine Government Pavilion at the Seattle World's Fair is a joint project of the Department of Trade and Industry and the Philippine business community. The Philippine Congress allocated 500,000 pesos (about $250,000) for the project. The private sector contributed an equal amount to ensure Philippine participation in the exhibition.

The wall facing the entrance to the pavilion is covered with ka-Magong, a deeply lustrous Philippine ebony. Next to it is a white marble information desk staffed by English-speaking representatives of the islands. On the side of the pavilion, an ornamental pool reflects the island character of the country. Outside is a fountain using giant Philippine shells. It was designed by a young award-winning sculptor in Manila, N. Veloso Abueva.

The exhibition, above the entrance to the two-storey pavilion, has been divided into four main sections:

Land shows the geographical location of the Philippines and its relationship with its Asian neighbours.

People shows who Filipinos are, their racial origins, what they look like, their dress and language, and their historical relationship with other people of the world.

Trade and Industry occupies the mezzanine. The exhibits are mainly products of Philippine exports, industries and the country's abundant natural resources, in collaboration with the potential for foreign investment.

Life and culture are presented in an exhibition of selected pieces of Philippine art.

During Philippine Week, July 9-15, the rich and colourful traditions of the Philippines will be showcased in performances by the Bayanihan Dance Troupe, the Opera House, concerts by the Philippines Army Band, a Philippine Fiesta, a fashion show on the evolution of Filipino costume, colourful Filipino jeepneys, Filipino films and exhibits by former Filipino sportsmen.

Filipino handicrafts are sold in two private concessions on World Boulevard.

Article based on Official Books Seattle World's Fair 1962

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Gouvernement des Philippines


Gouvernement des Philippines à l'exposition de Seattle 1962

© Museum of History & Industry, Seattle ( http://www.seattlehistory.org/ )

A l'extrémité nord de la zone internationale, le pavillon des Philippines présente un portrait complet d'un peuple construisant une nation. Le Pavillon du Gouvernement philippin à l'Exposition universelle de Seattle est un projet conjoint du ministère du Commerce et de l'Industrie et de la communauté d'affaires philippine. Le Congrès philippin alloua 500.000 pesos (environ $ 250.000) pour le projet. Le secteur privé a contribué d'un montant égal pour assurer la participation des Philippines à l'exposition.

Le mur face à l'entrée du pavillon est recouvert de ka-Magong, un bois d'ébène philippin au lustre profond. A côté d'elle, se trouve un bureau d'informations en marbre blanc, occupé par des anglophones représentants des îles. Sur le côté du pavillon, un bassin ornemental traduit le caractère insulaire du pays. En dehors se situe une fontaine utilisant des coquilles géantes des Philippines. Il a été conçu par un jeune sculpteur primé à Manille, N. Veloso Abueva.

L'exposition, au-dessus de l'entrée du pavillon à deux niveaux, a été divisée en quatre grandes parties:

La terre montre la localisation géographique des Philippines et sa relation avec ses voisins asiatiques.

Les gens montrent qui sont les Philippins, leurs origines raciales, à quoi ils ressemblent, leur habillement et leur langage ainsi que leurs relations historiques avec les autres personnes du monde.

Le commerce et l'Industrie occupe la mezzanine. Les objets présentés sont principalement des produits d'exportation des Philippines, des industries et des ressources naturelles abondantes du pays, en collaboration avec le potentiel d'investissement étranger.

La vie et la culture sont présentées dans une exposition de pièces choisies d'art philippin.

Pendant la Semaine des Philippines, du 9 au 15 Juillet , les traditions riches et colorées des Philippines seront présentées dans les performances de la troupe de danse Bayanihan, à l'Opéra, les concerts de la Philippines Army Band, une Philippine Fiesta, un défilé de mode sur l'évolution du costume philippin, des jeepneys Philippins colorés , des films philippins et des expositions d'anciens sportifs philippins.

Les articles de l'artisanat philippins sont vendus dans deux concessions privées sur les boulevards du monde.

Article rédigé à partir des livres Official Books Seattle World's Fair 1962