Back - List of Pavilions

NASA (National Aeronautics and Space Administration) - Expo Seattle 1962

NASA (National Aeronautics and Space Administration) at the Exhibition Expo Seattle 1962
© Museum of History & Industry, Seattle ( http://www.seattlehistory.org/ )

The peaceful exploration of space is presented by the National Aeronautics and Space Administration's exhibit in the southwest corner of the International Plaza.

The rocket exhibit is a sector of the science world.

NASA is making its first major attempt to graphically present the history of the United States space program. NASA, the aerospace industries and the exhibition have contributed more than $2 million to this presentation.

A tour of the exhibit, which familiarizes visitors with what has been and is being done in space, takes about half an hour. Fifteen trained guides are on hand to answer questions and provide information.

Introductory presentations explain the history of NASA and what they are trying to do. Beyond is a section devoted to models and mock-ups of satellites successfully launched and launched into orbit by the United States. Their names are familiar to most visitors: Explorer, Vanguard, Pioneer, Ranger, Mariner and Topside Sounder.

A display shows where NASA's tracking satellites are located and how they track the progress of artificial satellites around the earth.

It also reveals some of the information that the satellites are able to transmit to scientists.

The next section presents three-dimensional visualisations of propulsion systems in use or under study: liquid, solid and atomic. On the display are real rockets or reduced scale replicas.

One of the exhibits in the next section is the spacecraft in which Commander Shepard made the first manned American space flight. The section with the American manned spaceflight programmes, which has as its immediate objective the development of space vehicles to carry three men for orbital flights and lunar voyages.

Equipment and materials used in this programme - including a half-scale model of a three-man capsule - are on display.

Near the entrance is a small cinema which shows a continuous stream of films on space exploration, astronomy and rockets. Some of these are being shown publicly for the first time. There are daily changes in the film schedule. In addition, there are special lectures and demonstrations by experts in space research and technology.

Article based on Official Books Seattle World's Fair 1962

Retour - Liste Pavillons

NASA (Administration nationale de l'aéronautique et de l'espace)


NASA (Administration nationale de l'aéronautique et de l'espace) à l'exposition de Seattle 1962

© Museum of History & Industry, Seattle ( http://www.seattlehistory.org/ )

L'exploration pacifique de l'espace est présentée par l'exposition de la National Aeronautics and Space Administration dans le coin sud-ouest de la Plaza International.

L'exposition des fusées est un secteur du monde de la science.

La NASA fait sa première tentative majeure pour présenter graphiquement l'histoire du programme spatial des États-Unis. La NASA, les industries de l'aérospatiale et l'exposition ont contribué à hauteur de plus de 2 millions de dollars à cette présentation.

Une visite de l'exposition, qui familiarise le visiteur avec ce qui a été et ce qui se fait dans l'espace, prend environ une demi-heure. Quinze guides formés sont sur place pour répondre aux questions et fournir des informations.

Des présentations d'introduction expliquent l'histoire de la NASA et de ce qu'ils essaient de faire. Au-delà se trouve une section consacrée aux modèles et aux maquettes de satellites lancés avec succès et mis en orbite par les États-Unis. Leurs noms sont familiers à la plupart des visiteurs: Explorer, Vanguard, Pioneer, Ranger, Mariner et Topside Sounder.

Un affichage montre où les satellites de repérage de la NASA sont situés et comment ils suivent la progression des satellites artificiels autour de la terre.

Il révèle également certaines des informations que les satellites sont capables de transmettre aux scientifiques.

La section suivante présente des visualisations en trois dimensions des systèmes de propulsion en cours d'utilisation ou à l'étude: liquides, solides et atomiques. Sur l'affichage sont présentées des roquettes réelles ou répliques à échelle réduite.

Une des pièces dans la section suivante est le vaisseau spatial dans lequel le commandant Shepard a fait le premier vol spatial américain habité . La section avec les programmes de vols spatiaux Américains habités, qui a pour objectif immédiat la mise au point des véhicules spatiaux pour transporter trois hommes pour les vols orbitaux et voyages lunaires.

L'équipement et le matériel utilisé dans ce programme - y compris une maquette à l'échelle 1/2 d'une capsule pour trois hommes sont exposés.

Près de l'entrée se trouve un petit cinéma qui projette en continu des films sur explorations spatiales, l'astronomie et des fusées. Certains d'entre eux sont montrés publiquement pour la première fois. Il y a des changements quotidiens dans l'horaire des films. En outre, il y a des conférences et des démonstrations spéciales par des experts dans la recherche et la technologie spatiales.

Article rédigé à partir des livres Official Books Seattle World's Fair 1962