Century 21 Exposition - Seattle 1962

Man in the age of space travel

April 21, 1962 - October 21, 1962


Back - List of Pavilions

Science Horizons - Zone 5

Science Horizons - Zone 5 at the Exhibition Seattle 1962

© property of MSCUA, University of Washington Libraries ( http://www.lib.washington.edu/ )

Up to this point, the story told in the US Science exhibition focused on the functions of science. The scientific approach to the search for knowledge was demonstrated.
Scientific knowledge inevitably leads to action. It enables man to harness the forces of nature, to lighten the burden of life and to extend the span of life. As it increases man's ability to act, to tame and control his environment

In zone 5, at the end of the history of science, the implications of science are examined. This is a monolithic exposition to reinforce an impression that only the dominant science and the resulting technology can be used by society and thus increase and broaden its horizons.

Four aspects of the implications of science are addressed here:
- Science and the individual.
- The control of man's physical environment.
- Science and the world population problem.
- The place of man in an increasingly scientific and technological world.

The entrance to Zone 4 follows a curved corridor until it reaches a major hub. As the stage slowly rotates around a central structure, a narrator addresses the topics listed above. Images about scientific truths are discussed and appear in window-like openings in the wall. At the same time, related images of some actual or potential applications of scientific truths are displayed in louvered openings on the outer wall.
The stage carries the audience through the exhibition to the exit and the visit to the world of science is completed.

Article based on Official Books Seattle World's Fair 1962

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Horizons de la Science - Zone 5


Horizons de la Science - Zone 5 à l'exposition de Seattle 1962

© property of MSCUA, University of Washington Libraries ( http://www.lib.washington.edu/ )

Jusqu'à cette zone, l'histoire racontée dans l'exposition de la Science des Etats Unis, mettait l'accent sur les fonctions de la science. L'approche scientifique de la recherche de la connaissance a été démontrée.
La connaissance scientifique conduit inévitablement à l'action. Elle permet à l'homme d'exploiter les forces de la nature, pour alléger le fardeau de la vie et d'allonger la durée de la vie. Comme elle augmente, la capacité de l'homme à agir, d'apprivoiser et de contrôler son environnement

En zone 5, à la fin de l'histoire de la science, les implications de la science sont examinées. Il s'agit ici d'une exposition monolithique pour renforcer une impression que seule la science dominante et la technologie qui en résulte, peut être utilisée par la société et pour accroître et élargir ainsi ses horizons.

Quatre aspects des implications de la science sont traitées ici:
- Les sciences et l'individu.
- Le contrôle de l'environnement physique de l'homme.
- La science et le problème de la population mondiale.
- La place de l'homme dans un monde de plus en plus scientifique et technologique.

L'entrée de la zone 4 suit un couloir courbe jusqu'à ce qu'il arrive à une plaque tournante importante. Comme le plateau tourne lentement autour d'une structure centrale, un narrateur aborde les sujets énumérés ci-dessus. Des images sur les vérités scientifiques sont abordées et apparaissent dans des ouvertures du mur ressemblant à des fenêtres. Dans le même temps, les images connexes de certaines applications réelles ou potentielles sur les vérités scientifiques sont affichées dans des ouvertures à persiennes sur la paroi extérieure.
Le plateau porte le public à travers l'exposition jusqu'à la sortie et la visite dans le monde de la science arrive à son terme.

Article rédigé à partir des livres Official Books Seattle World's Fair 1962