Century 21 Exposition - Seattle 1962

Man in the age of space travel

April 21, 1962 - October 21, 1962


Back - List of Pavilions

House of Science - Zone 1

House of Science - Zone 1 at the Exhibition Expo Seattle 1962

© property of MSCUA, University of Washington Libraries ( http://www.lib.washington.edu/ )

The visit to the US Science Exhibition begins with an introductory film in a room with a projection system specially designed by Charles Eames. A 10-minute film, entitled "The House of Science", introduces science, scientists and exhibits.
It uses a new projection technique. Seven separate films, running simultaneously through seven synchronised projectors, project seven images onto a multiple screen to make one composite image.

The film begins with an animated sequence in which science is treated allegorically as a constantly changing structure. Science is seen as a house in which a room grows over the centuries, increasing in complexity, size, but with one essential element, the inherent unity of the design.

The body of the film depicts the scientist at work. His laboratory can be anywhere, what matters is his curiosity and his ability to investigate. He has instruments to extend and correct the perceptions of his senses and tools to measure what he sees and feels. He records his findings and shares his knowledge with others who seek scientific truth. The environment in which he works influences his attitude and approach to nature.

In the epilogue, the film discusses the implications of the science that is closely related to the summations made in Zone 5. It ends with scenes of humanity as an introduction to Zone 2.

Article based on Official Books Seattle World's Fair 1962

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Maison de la Science - Zone 1


Maison de la Science - Zone 1 à l'exposition de Seattle 1962

© property of MSCUA, University of Washington Libraries ( http://www.lib.washington.edu/ )

La visite de l'exposition scientifique des Etats-Unis commence par un film de présentation dans une salle avec un système de projection spécialement conçu par Charles Eames. Un film de 10 minutes, intitulé «La Maison de la Science», introduit la science, les savants et les expositions.
Il utilise une technique nouvelle de projection. Sept films distincts, fonctionnant simultanément à travers sept projecteurs synchronisés, projettent sept images sur un écran multiple pour ne faire qu'une seule image composite.

Le film commence par une séquence animée dans laquelle la science est traitée allégoriquement comme une structure en constante évolution. La science est considérée comme une maison dont une pièce grandit au cours des siècles en augmentant sa complexité, sa taille, mais avec un élément essentiel, l'unité inhérente à la conception.

Le corps du film dépeint le scientifique au travail. Son laboratoire peut être n'importe où, ce qui importe c'est sa curiosité et son capacité à investiguer. Il dispose d'instruments pour étendre et corriger les perceptions de ses sens et des outils pour mesurer ce qu'il voit et ressent. Il enregistre ses constatations et partage ses connaissances avec d'autres qui cherchent la vérité scientifique. L'environnement dans lequel il travaille influe sur son attitude et approche de la nature.

Dans l'épilogue, le film aborde les implications de la science qui est étroitement liée aux sommations faites dans la zone 5. Il se termine par des scènes de l'humanité pour servir d'introduction à la zone 2.

Article rédigé à partir des livres Official Books Seattle World's Fair 1962