Century 21 Exposition - Seattle 1962

Man in the age of space travel

April 21, 1962 - October 21, 1962


Back - List of Pavilions

Fine Arts Pavilion

Fine Arts Pavilion at the Exhibition Expo Seattle 1962

© Courtesy of The Seattle Public Library ( http://www.spl.org/ )

Architect(s) : Kirk, Wallace, McKinley & Associates

The Fine Arts Exhibition at the Seattle World's Fair is the finest and most extensive collection of paintings, sculptures and art objects ever assembled in the West.

Exhibits range from ancient sculpture from the East to the most modern examples of abstract expressionism. Norman Davis, a Seattle businessman and art collector, is the director of the Fine Arts exhibition.

The Fine Arts Pavilion has five main galleries.

At the opening the Fine Arts exhibition will feature, in order of viewing: American Art since 1950; Masterpieces of Art; Art of the Ancient East; International Art since 1950; and Pacific Northwest Indian Art.

After September 3, the masterpieces in the exhibition will be replaced by Paintings and Sculptures of the Northwest; Adventures in Art-Exhibition of Ceramics, and Glass Objects and by an exhibition entitled Pacific Rim Country.


American Art since 1950:

A group of 80 paintings and 30 sculptures show examples of work by major American artists. Many of the paintings are large and demonstrate modern art in the field of abstract expressionism.

The works are by artists such as Shahn, O'Keefe, Pollock, Rothko and Tobey and by Graves, Callahan and Horiuchi for those from the Pacific Northwest.

The gallery was selected by Dr. Sam Hunter, Director of the Rose Art Museum at Brandeis University. The pieces are representative of trends in American art today.


Masterpieces of Art:

Some of the finest paintings and great masters are displayed in the spacious Masterpieces Gallery. Some 61 museums in the United States, Canada, France, the Republic of China, Japan and India have loaned 72 works of art for the four-month show at the Seattle World's Fair.

The paintings represent such masters as Titian, Michelangelo and Guardi for Italy; Fragonard, Cézanne and Renoir for France; Constable, Turner-Laurent for England; Rembrandt, Frans Hals and Van Dyke for Holland, and Homer, Marin and Demuth for the United States.

Dr. William Milliken, Director Emeritus of the Cleveland Museum of Art, assembled the masterpieces in the exhibition.


Art of the Ancient East:

The Seattle Art Museum, well known for its collections of Oriental art, loaned pieces from its collection for the Fine Arts Pavilion. Adjacent to the Oriental gallery is a selection of Tobey Mark paintings from the museum.


Art Since 1950, International:

Modern Art from Around the World is shown in a major collection of 120 paintings and 30 sculptures.

The international collection features the work of 34 artists from 24 countries, with 3 or 4 works by each artist.

Willem Sandberg, director of the Stedelijk Museum in Amsterdam, curated the collection for the international exhibition.


Indian Art of the Pacific Northwest:

Many unique and individualistic pieces of Pacific Northwest Indian art, representing the craftsmanship of indigenous artists, were sent for this important first presentation. Explorers from Russia, England and the United States had carried artifacts from the region.

Dr. Erna Gunther, director of the University of Washington Museum, oversaw this exhibition.


Northwest Painting and Sculpture, Adventures in Art and Pacific Rim Countries

All three exhibitions are installed in the gallery occupied by Masterpieces after Labor Day. Northwest Painting and Sculpture contains works by a variety of regional artists. Adventures in Art displays some of the unique art forms that take ceramic and glass objects. Countries of the Pacific Region is a projection of contemporary art from Asian countries.

The Fine Arts Pavilion is a permanent exhibition building that will remain after the World Expo.

It is located at the northern end of the exhibition, between the Opera House and the Playhouse. Once past the main entrance, one enters a garden courtyard which is arranged with shrubs and sculptures.

The Fine Arts Pavilion has a surface area of 3700 m2. The vault rises to 12 metres and the lighting is of exceptional quality. The main galleries are divided by fireproof partitions. The exhibition is open from 10 am to 10 pm. Admission is 50 cents for adults and 35 cents for children.

Three catalogues, illustrated in black and white and in colour, are available for sale for $1, for those who want detailed explanations and souvenirs.

Article based on Official Books Seattle World's Fair 1962

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Pavillon des Beaux Arts


Pavillon des Beaux Arts à l'exposition de Seattle 1962

© Courtesy of The Seattle Public Library ( http://www.spl.org/ )
Architecte(s) : Kirk, Wallace, McKinley & Associates

L'exposition des Beaux-Arts à l'Exposition universelle de Seattle est la plus belle et la plus vaste des collections de peintures, de sculptures et d'objets d'art jamais réunis en Occident.

Les expositions vont de la sculpture antique de l'Orient jusqu'aux exemples les plus modernes de l’expressionnisme abstrait. Norman Davis, un homme d'affaires et collectionneur d'art de Seattle, est le directeur de l'exposition des Beaux-Arts.

Le Pavillon des Beaux-Arts comporte cinq galeries principales.

A l'ouverture l'exposition des beaux-Arts présentera, dans l'ordre de visualisation: l'Art Américain depuis 1950; des chefs-d'œuvre de l'art; l'Art de l'Orient antique; l'Art international depuis 1950; et l'Art Indien du Nord-Ouest du Pacifique.

Après le 3 Septembre, les chefs-d'œuvre de l'exposition seront remplacés par des Peintures et des Sculptures du Nord-Ouest; Aventures dans l'Art-Exposition de céramiques, et d'objets en verre et par une exposition intitulée d'un pays du littoral du Pacifique.


L'Art Américain depuis 1950:

Un groupe de 80 peintures et 30 sculptures montre des exemples de travaux des principaux artistes américains. Beaucoup de toiles sont grandes et elles démontrent l'art moderne dans le domaine de l’expressionnisme abstrait.

Les œuvres sont dues à des artistes tels que Shahn, O'Keefe, Pollock, Rothko et Tobey et à , Graves, Callahan et Horiuchi pour celles du Nord-Ouest du Pacifique.

La galerie a été sélectionnée par Dr. Sam Hunter, directeur du Musée d'Art Rose à la Brandeis University. Les pièces sont représentatives des tendances de l'art américain d'aujourd'hui.


Chefs-d'œuvre de l'Art:

Certains des plus beaux tableaux et des grands maîtres sont affichés dans la galerie spacieuse des chefs-d'œuvre. Quelques 61 musées aux Etats-Unis, au Canada, en France, la République de Chine, le Japon et l'Inde ont prêté 72 œuvres d'art pour le spectacle de quatre mois à l'Exposition universelle de Seattle.

Les peintures représentent des maîtres comme Titien, Michel-Ange et de Guardi pour l'Italie; Fragonard, Cézanne et Renoir pour la France; Constable, Turner-Laurent pour l'Angleterre; Rembrandt, Frans Hals et Van Dyke pour la Hollande, et Homère, Marin et Demuth pour les États-Unis.

Dr William Milliken, directeur émérite du Musée d'Art de Cleveland, a assemblé les chefs-d'œuvre de l'exposition.


Art de l'Orient ancien:

Le Seattle Art Museum, bien connu pour ses collections d'art oriental, a prêté des pièces de sa collection pour le Pavillon des Beaux-Arts. Adjacent à la galerie Oriental se trouve une sélection de peintures de Tobey Mark provenant du musée.


Art Depuis 1950, International:

L'art moderne à travers le monde est montré dans une importante collection de 120 peintures et 30 sculptures.

La collection internationale présente les œuvres de 34 artistes provenant de 24 pays, et où sont présentées 3 ou 4 oeuvres de chaque artiste.

Willem Sandberg, directeur du Stedelijk Museum d'Amsterdam, a dirigé la collection de l'exposition internationale .


L'art Indien du Nord-Ouest du Pacifique:

Beaucoup de pièces uniques et individualistes de l'art indien du Nord-Ouest du Pacifique, représentant l'artisanat d'artistes autochtones, ont été envoyées pour cette première présentation importante. Explorateurs de la Russie, l'Angleterre et les États-Unis avaient effectué des artefacts de la région.

Dr Erna Gunther, directeur de l'Université de Washington Museum, a supervisé cette exposition.


Peinture et Sculpture du Nord-Ouest, Aventures dans l'Art et Pays du bord du Pacifique

Les trois expositions sont installées dans la galerie occupée par les Chefs-d'œuvre après le Labor Day. Peinture et Sculpture du Nord-Ouest contient les œuvres d'une variété d'artistes régionaux. Aventures dans l'art affiche quelques-unes des formes d'art unique qui prennent des objets en céramique et en verre. Les pays de la région du Pacifique est une projection de l'art contemporain des pays asiatiques.

Le Pavillon des Beaux-Arts est un bâtiment d'exposition permanente qui restera après l'Exposition universelle.

Il est situé à l'extrémité nord de l'exposition, entre l'Opéra et le Playhouse. L'entrée principale passée, on accède à une cour-jardin qui est arrangée avec des arbustes et des sculptures.

Le Pavillon des Beaux-Arts a une surface de 3700 m2. La voûte s'élève à 12 mètres et l'illumination est d'une qualité exceptionnelle. Les galeries principales sont divisées par des cloisons anti-feu. L'exposition est ouverte 10 heures à 22 heures. Les tarifs d'entrée sont de 50 cents pour les adultes et 35 cents pour les enfants.

Trois catalogues, illustrés en noir et blanc et en couleurs, sont proposés à la vente pour 1 $, pour ceux qui souhaitent des explications détaillées et des souvenirs.

Article rédigé à partir des livres Official Books Seattle World's Fair 1962