Back - List of Pavilions

European Community -

European Community at the Exhibition Expo Seattle 1962
© Courtesy of The Seattle Public Library ( http://www.spl.org/ )
Architect(s) : Paul Thiry

The six-nation European Community pavilion was located in the International Plaza.

As visitors entered, they were faced with screens showing films with telephones attached. By pressing the button and picking up the phone, the visitor could see and hear one of the leaders of the six member countries.

The same sound and image system was used in the same hall on the other screens, where visitors could see and hear the leaders of the institutions that together form the government of the community. A large map of Europe, a counter for hostesses and a decoration of flags completed the entrance to the hall.

The main part was divided into two sections. One area, under a canopy suspended from the roof, contained a series of displays relating the history of the community and its origins, objectives, organisational structure and implementation date.

The other was a series of 15 displays with scale models of typical EEC programmes in culture, engineering and industry.

The six countries were Belgium, France, the Federal Republic of Germany, Italy, Luxembourg and the Netherlands.

Article based on Official Books Seattle World's Fair 1962

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Communauté Européenne


Communauté Européenne à l'exposition de Seattle 1962

© Courtesy of The Seattle Public Library ( http://www.spl.org/ )
Architecte(s) : Paul Thiry

Le pavillon de la Communauté Européenne composé de six Nations était localisé sur la Plaza Internationale.

En entrant, les visiteurs avaient en face d’eux des écrans diffusants des films avec des téléphones attachés. En pressant le bouton et décrochant le téléphone, le visiteur pouvait voir et entendre l’un des dirigeants des six pays membres.

Le même système de son et d’image était utilisé dans le même hall sur l’autres écrans, où les visiteurs pouvaient voir et entendre les dirigeants des institutions qui ensemble forme le gouvernement de la communauté. Une large carte de l’Europe, un compteur pour hôtesses et une décorations de drapeaux complétait des meubler l’entrée du hall.

Le partie principale était divisée en deux sections. Une zone, sous un auvent suspendu du toit, contenait une série d’affichages relatant l’histoire de la communauté et ses origines, objectifs, structure organisationnelle et date de mise en application.

L’autre était une série de 15 affichages avec des maquettes à l’échelle des programmes typique de la CEE dans la culture, ingénierie et industrie.

Les six pays étaient, la Belgique, la France, la République Fédérale d’Allemagne, Italie, Luxembourg et les Pays–Bas.

Article rédigé à partir des livres Official Books Seattle World's Fair 1962