Back - List of Pavilions

Northwest Airlines -

Northwest Airlines at the Exhibition Expo Seattle 1962
© Museum of History & Industry, Seattle ( http://www.seattlehistory.org/ )

You could enter the Northwest Airlines exhibit either from the centre of the corridor or directly from the balcony on the north side of the industry hall. The overall theme was flying in the future. To develop this theme, the exhibit had five distinctive elements.

The Northwest 720B jet, built by the Boeing Company of Seattle, was detailed in two sections, which specifically related to supersonic jets. One display built around the 720B was a flight table, on which were installed four telephones that were connected to a special radio receiver. When a visitor picked up a phone, the display was activated. He could listen to a Northwest 720 aircraft through a series of simulated flight operations, take-off, flight, landing and runway manoeuvres. While the visitor listened to the explanation of these operations over the phone, he could see the operations performed by a model aircraft mounted on the flight table in front of him.

The second part of the 720B exhibition was an authentic cabin of the aircraft. Seats, carpeting and the interior of the cabin gave visitors the feeling of a flight during the take-off phase.
In the centre of the Northwest Airlines exhibit was a 6-metre high pillar where its rotating top indicated the flight routes used by Northwest Airlines.

The lower part of the pillar had illuminated scenes of the various cities Northwest serves, side by side, from Hawaii, Alaska to the Orient. Also, there was a unique animated map. By pressing buttons located on the tabletop panel, visitors could instantly see the flight routes of Northwest's planes and also know the flight time required to get from one point in the route to the other.

A Northwest Airlines agent was busy providing information to visitors about the company's services.

Article based on Official Books Seattle World's Fair 1962

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Northwest Airlines


Northwest Airlines à l'exposition de Seattle 1962

© Museum of History & Industry, Seattle ( http://www.seattlehistory.org/ )

Vous pouviez entrer dans l’exposition Northwest Airlines soit par le centre du corridor soit directement par le balcon du coté nord du hall de l’industrie. Le thème général était les vols dans le futur. Pour développer ce thème, l’exposition avait cinq éléments distinctifs.

L’avion à réaction 720B de la Northwest, construit par la compagnie Boeing de Seattle, était détaillé dans deux sections, qui relataient spécifiquement les avions à réactions supersonique. Une présentation réalisée autour de l’720B était une table de vol, dessus était installé quatre téléphones qui étaient reliés à un récepteur radio spécial. Quand un visiteur décrochait un téléphone, l’affichage était activé. Il pouvait écouter ainsi un avion 720 de la Northwest à travers une série d’opérations aériennes simulées, le décollage, le vol, l’atterrissage et manœuvres sur la piste d’atterrissage. Pendant que le visiteur écoutait les explications de ces opérations au téléphone, il pouvait voir les opérations réalisées par une maquette d’avion montée sur la table de vol devant lui.

La seconde partie de l’exposition sur le 720B était une authentique cabine de l’avion. Des sièges, moquette et l’intérieur de la cabine permettaient aux visiteurs d’avoir le sentiment d’un vol pendant la phase de décollage.
Dans le centre de l’exposition de la Northwest Airlines était situé un pilier de 6 mètres de haut où son sommet en rotation indiquait les routes aériennes utilisées par la Northwest Airlines.

La partie basse du pilier se situaient des scènes éclairées des différentes villes desservies par la Northwest, côte à côte, d’Hawaï, Alaska à l’Orient. Aussi, il y avait une carte animée unique. En pressant les boutons localisés sur le panneau de la table, les visiteurs pouvaient voir instantanément les routes aériennes des avions de la Northwest et savoir aussi le temps de vol requis pour aller d’un point à l’autre du trajet.

Un agent de la Northwest Airlines était occupé à fournir l’information aux visiteurs sur les services de la compagnie.

Article rédigé à partir des livres Official Books Seattle World's Fair 1962