Back - List of Pavilions

Industry Hall -

Industry Hall at the Exhibition Expo Seattle 1962
Architect(s) : Robert Billsbrough Price

On "America's Way", south of the States Square, was the large and long hall of industry, where 10 industries were represented. Coloured plastic pyramids ran from the roof outside the building down to the ceiling inside.

There were entrances on each side of the hall. They opened onto corridors that led to the different exhibition areas. On the north side of the building, a glass wall overlooked the "States Square" and the "World Boulevards".

The largest exhibitor in the hall was the National Cash Register Company. It occupied an L-shaped area at the western end of the building. The company presented new products it had developed or those under development. The display included advanced models of cash registers, computers and registration tabulators for trade and industry. The exhibition also featured a new perfume-impregnated paper. In the rest of the exhibition visitors could relax while watching promotional films presented by the National Cash Register Company. The central wing featured exhibits sponsored by the H. J. Heinz Company and the S. C Johnson Company. On the opposite side were exhibits presented by the Aluminum Industry, Rohr Aircraft Company, United Air Line, Bekins Moving and Storage Company and Northwest Airlines. Occupying the far eastern bay of the hall was the Carnation Company.
Carnation displayed a graphic presentation of proposals and programmes for the nutritional requirements of an expanding world.
One of the most popular animations was the "Wonderful Milk Machine", an animated mechanical cow. This whimsical machine showed how the cow produced milk in a scientific way. Another lighted display showed the production process of the daily products. A fair was also located in this area.

Visitors to the Rohr Aircraft exhibition could operate an orbital station on various simulators.
Other displays included a full-scale missile, wide wings for supersonic transport and graphic presentations of Rohr's various aerospace activities.

The citizens of the 21st century, the children of today, posed for the photo exhibition sponsored by the Bekins Company. The photos told the story of a move in the 2000s. The United Air Lines exhibition featured an electronic booking machine, against which visitors could test their memory and speed. The H. J. Heinz Company graphically related how and where they produced their food products in the Pacific Northwest.

Article based on Official Books Seattle World's Fair 1962

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Hall de l’industrie


Hall de l’industrie à l'exposition de Seattle 1962

Architecte(s) : Robert Billsbrough Price

Sur Le « Chemin de l’Amérique », au sud de la place des Etats, était situé le grandet long hall de l’industrie, où 10 industries étaient représentées. Des pyramides en plastique coloré traversaient du toit à l’extérieur du bâtiment pour redescendre du plafond à l’intérieur.

Ils y avaient des entrées de chaque coté du hall. Elles donnaient sur des corridors qui conduisaient aux différentes zones d’exposition. Au coté nord du bâtiment, un mur de verre surplombait la « place des Etats » et les « Boulevards du monde ».

Le plus grand exposant dans le hall était « National Cash Register Company ». Il occupait un quartier en forme de L à l’extrême Ouest du bâtiment. La compagnie présentait les nouveaux produits quelle avait développé ou ceux en cours de développement. Cette présentation incluait des modèles avancés de caisses enregistreuses, ordinateurs et tabulateur d’enregistrement pour le commerce et l’industrie. L’exposition présentait aussi un nouveau papier imprégné de parfum. Dans le reste les visiteurs pouvaient se relaxer pendant qu’ils pouvaient regarder des films promotionnels présentés par « National Cash Register Company ». L’aile centrale présentait des expositions sponsorisées par H. J. Heinz Company et la « S. C JohnsonCompany ». Au coté opposé, les expositions présentées par l’Industrie Aluminium, la « Rohr Aircraft Company », « United Air Line », « Bekins Moving and Storage Company » et « Northwest Airlines ». Occupant la baie à l’extrême Est du hall était la « Carnation Company ».
La Carnation exposait une présentation graphique des propositions et programmes des exigences nutritionnelles d’un monde en expansion.
Une des animation les plus prisée était « la machine à lait merveilleuse », une vache mécanique animée. Cette machine capricieuse montrait comment la vache produisait le lait d’une façon scientifique. Un autre affichage lumineux montrait les opérations de production des produits quotidiens. Un salon était aussi localisé dans ce quartier.

Les visiteurs a l’exposition de « Rohr Aircraft » pouvaient manipuler une station orbitale sur les des différents « simulateurs ».
Les autres présentations étaient, un missile à l’échelle réelle, des ailes larges pour le transport supersonique et des présentations graphiques des différentes activités de Rohr dans le domaine aérospatial.

Les citoyens du 21ième siècle, les enfants d’aujourd’hui, posait pour l’exposition photographique sponsorisée par « Bekins Company » . Les photos racontaient l’histoire d’un déménagement dans les années 2000. L’exposition de « United Air Lines » présentait une machine de réservations électronique, contre laquelle les visiteurs pouvaient tester leur mémoire et leur rapidité. Le « H. J. Heinz Company » relatait graphiquement comment et où il produisait leurs produits alimentaires dans le Nord-Ouest du Pacifique.

Article rédigé à partir des livres Official Books Seattle World's Fair 1962