Century 21 Exposition - Seattle 1962

Man in the age of space travel

April 21, 1962 - October 21, 1962


Back - List of Pavilions

Transport 21

Transport 21 at the Exhibition Seattle 1962

© Museum of History & Industry, Seattle ( http://www.seattlehistory.org/ )

Architect(s) : Mandeville & Berge

Transport 21, on Boulevard 21, was sponsored by four transcontinental railways linking Seattle and the Pacific Northwest. Its theme was the mid-21st century, when high-speed trains, powered automatically by electronics, will adapt to changing demographics and industrial production.

The exhibition was divided into three parts, each area presenting a stage of rail development, the Present, the last decades of the 20th century and finally after the 2000s.

In the first area of the exhibition, displays described the immediate future of freight and the new passenger facilities on the new railways. The highlight of this part was a demonstration of the use of electronic points in freight at the time. Visitors learned how electronically controlled switches simplified and increased the speed of routing trains through thousands of destinations around the country.

The second part was devoted to the high-speed regional rail transport of the future. The main attraction was a working model of the Levatrain, presented in cooperation with the Ford Motor Company. The "Levatrain" was a wheelless vehicle capable of transporting freight and passengers at speeds of 320 to 800 km/h. It floated in the air thanks to the power of its wheels. It floated in the air thanks to air cushions. The train was powered by turbines and ran on a special rail. Other displays described methods that could be used in the future to move large numbers of people from one place to another quickly, cheaply and safely.

The third part dealt with transport in the space age. A life-size model of a capsule was presented. Displays described how passengers enter the capsule and travel quickly from one remote point to another.

The four sponsors were Great Northen, Northern Pacific, the Milwaukee Road and Union Pacific. Many companies directly and indirectly related to the railroad industry cooperated in the preparation of this exhibition.

Article based on Official Books Seattle World's Fair 1962

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Transport 21


Transport 21 à l'exposition de Seattle 1962

© Museum of History & Industry, Seattle ( http://www.seattlehistory.org/ )
Architecte(s) : Mandeville & Berge

Transport 21, sur Boulevard 21, était sponsorisé par quatre compagnies ferroviaires transcontinentales reliant Seattle et le Pacifique Nord-Ouest. Son thème était le milieu du 21ième siècle, quand les trains haute vitesse, fonctionnants automatiquement grâce à l'électronique, s'adapteront à l'évolution démographique ainsi que l'évolution de la production industrielle.

L'exposition était divisée en trois parties, chaque zone présentait un stade du développement du rail, Le Présent, les dernières décades du 20ième siècle et pour finir après les années 2000.

Dans la première zone d'exposition, des affichages décrivaient le futur immédiat du Fret et les nouveaux équipements pour les passagers sur les nouvelles voies ferrée. le clou de cette partie était une démonstration de l'utilisation de l'électronique des aiguillages dans le fret de l'époque. Les visiteurs apprenaient comment les aiguillages contrôlés électroniquement simplifiaient et augmentaient la rapidité d'aiguiller les train à travers des milliers de destinations dans le pays.

La deuxième partie était dévolue aux transports ferroviaires régionaux haute-vitesse du futur. l'attraction phare était une maquette opérationnelle du "Levatrain", présenté avec la coopération de la société "Ford Motor Compagny". Le "Levatrain" était un véhicule sans roue capable de transporter fret et passagers à des vitesses de 320 à 800 km/h. Il flottait dans les air grâce à des coussins d'air. Le train était mu par des turbines et glissait sur un rail spécial. Les autres affichages décrivaient les méthodes qui pouvaient être utilisée dans le future pour déplacer un grand nombre de personnes d'un endroit à un autre, rapidement , économiquement et en sécurité.

La troisième partie les transports dans l'âge spatial. Une maquette grandeur réelle d'un capsule était présentée. Les affichages décrivaient comment les passagers entraient dans la capsule et voyageaient rapidement d'un point éloigné à un autre.

Les quatre sponsors étaient Great Northen, Northern Pacific, la Milwaukee Road et Union Pacific. Beaucoup de compagnies directement et indirectement lié au secteurs ferroviaires coopérèrent dans la préparation de cette exposition.

Article rédigé à partir des livres Official Books Seattle World's Fair 1962