Back - List of Pavilions

Metallurgy and Metal Fabrications -

Metallurgy and Metal Fabrications at the Exhibition Expo Brussels 1958
© Expo58
Architect(s) : S. Deval, A et J Polak

The architectural design of the main pavilion allowed you to get an overview of the exhibition from the entrance: on the left, the presentation of the steel industry, on the right, the non-ferrous metals and in the centre, the metal manufactures.

Cooperation between the industries in this group was a factor of productivity and human progress: this was the theme that guided your visit.

Follow the drawings on the floor and they will show you the itinerary of the tour that you will start with in the field of steelmaking.


The iron and steel foundries showed you the highlights of a 2000 year old industry that is constantly developing. The forges, the drawing and the cable works displayed their most spectacular achievements.

An extremely slow-moving machine showed how mechanisation in the wire-drawing industry has taken the strain off man. This mechanisation also governs the vast sector of machines and equipment for various industries; next: diamond tools, machine tools for metalworking, compressors and their pneumatic accessories, pumps, valves and general tools.

In the same sector, among other diesel engines, a generator set was presented to supply the emergency network of this exhibition and of the Atomium, special engines and lifting, handling and weighing instruments.

Oil was on the agenda.... Belgian manufacturers showed you their products in a fresco decorating the interior of a half oil tank.

Don't you benefit every day from the achievements of fine mechanics? Here they are on display: precision equipment, mechanographic applications, the manufacture of moulded materials, technical or household articles, construction and decoration materials, metal building accessories, hardware and metal furniture.

The problem of metal corrosion and the solutions to it were described to you in a didactic and spectacular way.

Your visit ended with the non-ferrous metals sector and you were able to judge the immense possibilities represented by the copper, zinc, lead and aluminium industries.

© Guide Officiel Exposition Universelle de Bruxelles 1958 - Desclée & Co

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Métallurgie et les Fabrications Métalliques


Métallurgie et les Fabrications Métalliques à l'exposition de Bruxelles 1958

© Expo58
Architecte(s) : S. Deval, A et J Polak

La conception architecturale du pavillon principal vous permettait dès l’entrée d’avoir une vue d’ensemble de l’exposition : à gauche, la présentation de la sidérurgie, à droite, celle des métaux non ferreux et au centre, celle des fabrications métalliques.

La coopération entre les industries de ce groupe constituait un facteur de productivité et de progrès humain : c’était le thème qui guidait votre visite.

Suiviez les dessins du revêtement du sol, il vous traçaient l’itinéraire du parcours que vous commenciez en abordant le domaine de la sidérurgie.


Les fonderies de fer et d’acier vous montraient les pièces marquantes d’une industrie âgée de 2000 ans, en constant développement. Les forges, l’étirage et la câblerie exposaient leurs réalisations les plus spectaculaires.

Une machine fonctionnant à l’extrême ralenti vous apprenait comment, dans l’industrie de la tréfilerie, la mécanisation avait soulagé l’effort de l’homme. Cette mécanisation régit également le vaste secteur des machines et équipements pour industrie diverses ; suivent : l’outillage diamanté, la machine outil pour le travail des métaux, les compresseurs et leurs accessoires pneumatiques, les pompes, la robinetterie et l’outillage général.

Dans le même secteur vous étaient présentés, parmi d’autres moteurs Diesel un groupe électrogène assurant l’alimentation du réseau de secours de cette exposition et de l’Atomium, des moteurs spéciaux et des instruments de levage, manutention et pesage.

Le pétrole était à l’ordre du jour…. Les constructeurs belges vous montraient leurs fabrications évoquées dans une fresque décorant l’intérieur d’un demi tank à pétrole.

Ne bénéficiez-vous pas chaque jour des réalisations de la fine mécanique ? Les voici exposées : les appareils de précision, des applications mécanographiques, la fabrication des matières moulées, articles techniques ou ménagers, matériaux de construction et de décoration, accessoires métalliques du bâtiment, quincaillerie et mobilier métallique.

Le problème de la corrosion du métal et des solutions qui y sont apportés vous étaient décrits de façon didactique et spectaculaire.

Votre visite se terminait par le secteur des métaux non ferreux et vous jugiez des immenses possibilités que représentent les industries du cuivre, du zinc, du plomb et de l’aluminium.

© Guide Officiel Exposition Universelle de Bruxelles 1958 - Desclée & Co