Brussels World and International Exhibition 1958 - Expo58

Review of the world for a more human world

April 17, 1958 - October 19, 1958


Back - List of Pavilions

European Coal and Steel Community

European Coal and Steel Community at the Exhibition Brussels 1958

© Expo58

Architect(s) : E. Delatte, R. Maquestieau

"Europe united in a progressing world" was the central theme of the European Coal and Steel Community Pavilion.

The many states from all over the world that participated in the exhibition showed their national wealth.

But among them, six European countries - Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, Luxembourg and the Netherlands - decided in 1952 to replace the age-old rivalries between them with a merger of their essential interests and to lay the foundations of the European Community, starting with coal and steel.

The Coal and Steel Community had existed for five years. Continuing their policy of a united Europe, the six founding states established the European Economic Community and the European Atomic Energy Community in 1957.

For 160 million Europeans, Europe is a political and economic reality. Common institutions take binding decisions in six countries, under the control of a parliamentary assembly and a court of justice.

This profound transformation in the life of Europe, yesterday's Utopia and today's reality, was illustrated by the European Community Pavilion.

Twelve architects and decorators from the six countries of the Community and more than eighty experts took part in the construction and decoration of this pavilion which, together with the results of the common market for coal and steel, expressed the will to unite the peoples of Europe and the contribution that a united Europe must make to the prosperity and peace of the world.

© Guide Officiel Exposition Universelle de Bruxelles 1958 - Desclée & Co

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Communauté Européenne du Charbon et de l'Acier


Communauté Européenne du Charbon et de l'Acier à l'exposition de Bruxelles 1958

© Expo58
Architecte(s) : E. Delatte, R. Maquestieau

« L'Europe unie dans un monde en progrès» : tel était le thème central du Pavillon de ta Communauté européenne du Charbon et de l'Acier.

Les nombreux Etats du monde entier qui participaient a exposition montraient leurs richesses nationales.

Mais parmi eux, six Etats d'Europe - Allemagne fédérale, Belgique, France, Italie, Luxembourg, Pays-Bas - ont décidé en 1952, de substituer aux rivalités séculaires qui les opposaient les uns aux autres, une fusion de leurs intérêts essentiels et de fonder, en commençant par le charbon et l’acier, les premières assises de la Communauté européenne.

La Communauté du Charbon et de l'Acier existait depuis cinq ans. Poursuivant leur politique dans la voie de l’Europe unie, les six états qui l'ont fondée ont institué, en 1957, la Communauté économique européenne de la Communauté européenne de l'énergie atomique.

Pour 160 millions d'Européens, l'Europe est une réalité politique et économique. Des institutions communes prennent des décisions exécutoires dans six pays, sous le contrôle d'une assemblée parlementaire et d'une cour de justice.

Cette transformation profonde dans la vie de l'Europe, Utopie d'hier et réalité d':aujourd’hui était illustrée par le Pavillon dé la Communauté européenne.

Douze architectes et décorateurs, venus des six pays de la Communauté, et plus de Quatre-vingts experts ont participé à la construction et à la décoration de ce pavillon où s'exprimaient, en même temps que les résultats du marché commun pour le charbon et l’acier, la volonté d'union des peuples d'Europe et la contribution que l'Europe unie doit apporter à la prospérité et la paix du monde.

© Guide Officiel Exposition Universelle de Bruxelles 1958 - Desclée & Co