Brussels World and International Exhibition 1958 - Expo58

Review of the world for a more human world

April 17, 1958 - October 19, 1958


Back - List of Pavilions

Turkey

Turkey at the Exhibition Brussels 1958

© Expo58 - EGICARTE

Architect(s) : U. Izgi, M. Türkmen, H.Sensoy et I. Türegün

As a link between the Eastern and Western worlds for thousands of years, and as a crossroads of the greatest civilizations, Turkey was anxious to make its past and present known by participating in the Exhibition, for in a very short period of time, barely thirty-five years, it has carried out the most difficult reforms in all fields. The Turkish reality can be summed up as a gigantic effort directed towards peaceful ends.
Note the happy harmony of the pavilion's proportions: it resulted from the simplicity of lines and the correctness of volumes that have always characterized Turkish architecture. The objects exhibited reflected the soul of the people, for whom the search for usefulness is accompanied by a marked taste for aesthetics.
Admire in particular the most beautiful specimens of handicrafts, the panorama of the history of the civilizations of Asia Minor. As you walked through the pavilion, you had an edifying idea of the Turkish social organisation in all eras and of the sum of the efforts currently being made for the economic, social and cultural recovery of the country.
Naturally hospitable, Turkey offered you in a second pavilion the pleasure of a restaurant and a café.

© Guide Officiel Exposition Universelle de Bruxelles 1958 - Desclée & Co

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Turquie


Turquie à l'exposition de Bruxelles 1958

© Expo58 - EGICARTE
Architecte(s) : U. Izgi, M. Türkmen, H.Sensoy et I. Türegün

Trait d'union depuis des millénaires entre. le monde oriental , et occidental, carrefour des plus grandes civilisations, la Turquie avait tenu en participant A l'Exposition à faire connaitre son passé comme son présent : car elle a .réalisé en une très courte période, trente-cinq ans à peine, les réformes les plus difficiles dans tous les domaines. La réalité turque se résume ainsi : elle est un effort gigantesque orienté vers des fins pacifiques.
Remarquiez l'heureuse harmonie des proportions du pavillon : elle résultait de la simplicité des lignes et de Ia justesse des volumes qui ont toujours caractérisé l'architecture turque. Les objets exposés reflétaient l'âme, du peuple pour qui la recherche de l'utile est accompagnée d'un goût marqué pour l'esthétique.
Admiriez en particulier les· plus beaux spécimens des arts manuels, le panorama de l'histoire des civilisations de l'Asie mineure. En parcourant le pavillon, vous aviez une idée édifiante de l'organisation sociale turque à toutes les époques et de la somme des efforts déployés actuellement pour le relèvement économique, social et culturel du pays.
Naturellement hospitalière, la Turquie vous offrait dans un second pavillon, l'agrément d'un restaurant et d'un café.

© Guide Officiel Exposition Universelle de Bruxelles 1958 - Desclée & Co