Back - List of Pavilions

Tunisia - Expo Brussels 1958

Tunisia at the Exhibition Expo Brussels 1958
© Expo58 - EGICARTE
Architect(s) : V. Valensi et R. Bouraoui

To evoke Tunisia is to irresistibly evoke Carthage, its naval supremacy which made it the feared rival of Rome, the Punic wars, the exploits of Annibal, the historic battle of Cannes.

It also means evoking Christian Carthage, with all the geniuses it has given to humanity: Tertullian, Saint Monica, Saint Augustine, Saint Cyprian.

You know the famous phrase: "I am a man and nothing human is foreign to me". It is by Terence, the Carthaginian poet.

Finally, it is to evoke the brilliant period of the Arab conquest with its extensions in Europe, the Andalusian civilisation, the Arab kingdom of the Two Sicilies and the School of Salerno, starting points of the Italian Renaissance.

There are so many names to mention among scholars, scientists, historians and researchers! The most prestigious of all is certainly Ibn Khaldoum, founder of sociology, historical criticism and modern political economy.

The theme of the Tunisian pavilion, "The Tunisian in his daily work, in his contribution to the progress of science and art, in the realisation of his ideal of justice and freedom, in his leisure time", made you know and love the country which could adopt as its motto: "Young nation, old civilisation". You could appreciate all the refined charm and delicate hospitality.

© Guide Officiel Exposition Universelle de Bruxelles 1958 - Desclée & Co

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Tunisie


Tunisie à l'exposition de Bruxelles 1958

© Expo58 - EGICARTE
Architecte(s) : V. Valensi et R. Bouraoui

Evoquer la Tunisie, c'est évoquer irrésistiblement Carthage, sa suprématie navale qui en a fait la rivale redoutée de Rome, les guerres puniques, les exploits d'Annibal, l'historique bataille de Cannes.

C'est évoquer aussi la Carthage chrétienne, avec ce qu'elle a donné de génies à l'humanité : Tertullien, sainte Monique, saint Augustin, saint Cyprien.

Vous connaissez la phrase célèbre : « Je suis homme et rien de ce qui est humain ne m'est étranger ». Elle ,est de Térence, poète carthaginois.

C'est évoquer enfin la brillante période de la conquête arabe avec ses prolongements en Europe, la civilisation andalouse, le royaume arabe des Deux-Siciles et l'Ecole de Salerne, points de départ de la Renaissance italienne.

Que de noms à citer parmi les érudits, les savants, les historiens les chercheurs ! Le plus prestigieux de tous est assurément Ibn Khaldoum, fondateur de la sociologie, de la critique, historique et de l'économie politique moderne.

Le thème du pavillon tunisien, « Le Tunisien dans son. travail quotidien, dans sa contribution au progrès des sciences et des arts, dans là réalisation de son idéal de justice et de liberté, dans ses loisirs» vous faisait connaître et aimer le pays qui pourrait adopter comme devise : « Jeune nation, vieille civilisation » Vous pouviez en apprécier tout le charme raffiné, toute la délicate hospitalité.

© Guide Officiel Exposition Universelle de Bruxelles 1958 - Desclée & Co