Brussels World and International Exhibition 1958 - Expo58

Review of the world for a more human world

April 17, 1958 - October 19, 1958


Back - List of Pavilions

Luxembourg

Luxembourg at the Exhibition Expo Brussels 1958

© Expo58 - EGICARTE

Architect(s) : R. Mailliet et P. Reuter

As soon as you entered the Luxembourg pavilion, you were struck by the solid and luminous character of the building, which was almost exclusively made of steel and glass.

It was a symbol of the extraordinary growth of this country of three hundred thousand inhabitants.

The metal frame and iron in its most diverse applications. It was a symbol of the importance of the steel industry in the economic structure of the country. The transparency of the large glass surfaces made you understand how much this country is open to all the winds of the spirit and to all the currents of exchange.

From room to room, this double aspect was explained to you: a non-figurative sheet metal monument and two panels surrounding it represented the metallurgical industries and the multitude of manufacturing industries whose development was not prevented by the steel industry. As for the economic activities symbolised by the glass, they were oriented towards the outside world; they were tourism and viticulture...

In a relaxing room, you could contemplate the harmonious and varied landscapes of Luxembourg, including hills covered with vineyards... These were the ones that you evoked while savouring the best vintages of the land.

There was a third aspect of Luxembourg's prestige that you had to admire: the city of Luxembourg, an international intellectual centre.

The institutions of the European Coal and Steel Community, the ECCAS school and Radio-Télé-Luxembourg could not be absent from a pavilion devoted to the astonishing presence of a small country in the world today.

© Guide Officiel Exposition Universelle de Bruxelles 1958 - Desclée & Co

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Luxembourg


Luxembourg à l'exposition de Bruxelles 1958

© Expo58 - EGICARTE
Architecte(s) : R. Mailliet et P. Reuter

Vous étiez trappés, dès l'entrée dans le pavillon luxembourgeois, par le caractère à la fois solide et lumineux que conférait à cet édifice l'emploi presque exclusif de l'acier et du verre.

Il s'agissait d'un symbole : celui de l'essor extraordinaire de ce pays de trois cent mille habitants.

L'ossature métallique et le fer dans ses applications les plus diverses. Marquaient l'importance de l'industrie sidérurgique dans la structure économique du pays. La transparence des grandes surfaces vitrées vous faisait comprendre combien ce pays est ouvert à tous les vents de l'esprit et à tous les courants d'échange.

De salle en salle, ce double aspect vous était expliqué: un monument non figuratif en tôle et deux panneaux entourant celui-ci représentaient les industries métallurgiques et la multitude d'Industries manufacturières dont la sidérurgie n'a pas empêché l'éclosion. Quant aux activités économiques symbolisées par le verre, elles s'orientaient vers l'extérieur; c’étaient le tourisme et la viticulture ...

Dans une salle à l'aspect reposant, vous pouviez contempler, harmonieux et variés, les paysages luxembourgeois; parmi ceux-ci, il est des collines couvertes de vignobles ... C'est elles que vous évoquiez en savourant les meilleurs crus du terroir.

Il était un troisième aspect du prestige luxembourgeois que vous vous deviez d'admirer : c'était celui de la ville de Luxembourg, centre intellectuel International.

Les institutions de la Communauté européenne du charbon et de l'acier, l'école C.E.C.A. et Radio-Télé-Luxembourg ne pouvaient être absents d'un pavillon consacré à l'étonnante présence d'un petit pays dans le monde d'aujourd'hui.

© Guide Officiel Exposition Universelle de Bruxelles 1958 - Desclée & Co