Brussels World and International Exhibition 1958 - Expo58

Review of the world for a more human world

April 17, 1958 - October 19, 1958


Back - List of Pavilions

Israel

Israel at the Exhibition Brussels 1958

© Expo58

Architect(s) : A. EL-Hanani et A. Sharon

The Israel pavilion attempted to illustrate in a modern graphic style the dramatic story of a state under construction, of a people taking shape. It placed them in the perspective of the ancient history of the Jewish nation, of the people of the Bible who returned to their homeland after the vicissitudes of an exile that lasted almost two thousand years.

The exhibition brought to life for you the heritage of ancient Israel, retraced before your eyes the picture of the Dispersion, and allowed you to grasp at first hand, in all its picturesque exuberance, the contemporary history of the State of Israel.

Special features presented it to you," as revealed in the work of the desert pioneers; the laughter of children and the joyful dances of a youth creating its own traditions; the conquest of arid spaces.

For Israel, 1958 was also the tenth anniversary of its existence; the young state celebrated this jubilee by offering the world a unique example: that of a democracy built in the spirit of the ancient Hebrew prophets, according to the techniques of modern science.

© Guide Officiel Exposition Universelle de Bruxelles 1958 - Desclée & Co

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Israël


Israël à l'exposition de Bruxelles 1958

© Expo58
Architecte(s) : A. EL-Hanani et A. Sharon

Le pavillon d'Israël tentait d'illustrer dans un style graphique moderne la dramatique histoire d'un Etat en construction, d'un peuple qui prend forme. Il les situait dans la perspective de l'histoire ancienne de la nation juive, du peuple de la Bible rentré au pays après les vicissitudes d'un exil presque deux fois millénaire.

L'exposition faisait revivre pour vous l'héritage de l'antique Israël, retraçait sous vos yeux le tableau de la Dispersion et vous permettait de saisir sur le vif, dans sa pittoresque exubérance, l'histoire contemporaine de l'Etat d'Israël.

Des dispositifs spéciaux vous présentaient celle-ci," telle qu'elle se révélait dans les travaux des pionniers du désert; le rire des enfants et les danses allègres d'une jeunesse qui crée ses propres traditions; la conquête d'espaces arides.

Pour Israël, 1958 est également le dixième anniversaire de son existence; le jeune Etat fêtait ce jubilé en offrant au monde un exemple unique : celui d'une démocratie édifiée dans l'esprit des. anciens Prophètes hébreux, selon les techniques de la science moderne.

© Guide Officiel Exposition Universelle de Bruxelles 1958 - Desclée & Co