Brussels World and International Exhibition 1958 - Expo58

Review of the world for a more human world

April 17, 1958 - October 19, 1958


Back - List of Pavilions

France

France at the Exhibition Brussels 1958

© Expo58 - EGICARTE

Architect(s) : G. Gillet, P. Sonrel

A technical feat, this pavilion of 12,000 m2 balanced on a single point was also the materialization of the humanist theme chosen by the Exhibition, which particularly appealed to France: "Technology in the service of man".

It is representative of the aesthetic and daring qualities of the French race. Its realization being by itself an absolutely original solution of the problems of balance, prefigured the future.

The presentation followed the man in the divisions of his daily existence_ You could see first of all "the man at work" whether in large industry, or in the craft industry, in the factory or on the farm; then "the man at rest" in his home, in the communities of the neighbourhood, or finally, as a citizen of the nation.

In this country with a strong intellectual tradition, the word "leisure" means "thought", which is why French thought was studied here in its formation, in its means of expression and in the results of its research. It was and remains the richest contribution that France made to the world.

As a country with a global vocation, France presented in the last section its overseas achievements, its civilising work and the way in which it has made available to mankind natural resources which, without its intellectuals and techniques, would have remained dormant for a long time.

The Paris pavilion, designed according to the same architectural
The Paris pavilion, designed according to the same architectural principles as the French pavilion, reminded you of the charm and prestige of the capital - the capital not only of the metropolis but also of the French Union and a great international city at that.

© Guide Officiel Exposition Universelle de Bruxelles 1958 - Desclée & Co

Retour - Liste Pavillons

France


France à l'exposition de Bruxelles 1958

© Expo58 - EGICARTE
Architecte(s) : G. Gillet, P. Sonrel

Prouesse technique, ce pavillon de 12.000 m2 en équilibre sur une seule pointe était aussi la matérialisation ·du thème humaniste choisi par l'Exposition qui a particulièrement séduit la France: « Les techniques au service de l'homme».

Il est représentatif des qualités d'esthétique et , d'audace' de la race française. Sa réalisation étant par elle-même une solution absolument originale des problèmes d'équilibre, préfigurait l'avenir.

La présentation suivait l'homme dans les divisions de son existence quotidienne_ Vous pouviez voir tout d'abord « l'homme au travail » que ce soit dans la grande industrie, ou dans l'artisanat, à la manufacture ou à la ferme; ensuite « l'homme au repos »dans son foyer, dans les collectivités de voisinage, ou enfin, comme citoyen de la nation.

Dans ce pays aux traditions intellectuelles fortement ancrées, le mot "loisirs" signifie "pensée", c'est pourquoi la pensée française y était ici étudiée dans sa formation, dans ses moyens d'expression et dans les résultats de sa recherche, Elle était et demeurait l’apport le plus riche que la France faisait au monde.

Pays à vocation mondiale, la France présentait dans la dernière section; ses réalisations d'outre-mer, son œuvre proprement civilisatrice et la manière dont elle a mis à la disposition des hommes, des richesses naturelles qui, sans ses intellectuels et ses techniques, seraient longtemps restées endormies.

Le pavillon de Paris conçu selon les mêmes principes
architecturaux que le pavillon de la France rappelait à vos yeux le charme et le prestige de la capitale - capitale non seulement de la métropole mais aussi de l'Union Française et grande cité internationale au surplus.

© Guide Officiel Exposition Universelle de Bruxelles 1958 - Desclée & Co