Brussels World and International Exhibition 1958 - Expo58

Review of the world for a more human world

April 17, 1958 - October 19, 1958


Back - List of Pavilions

Canada

Canada at the Exhibition Brussels 1958

© Expo58 - EGICARTE

Architect(s) : Ch. Greenberg

Because Canada is a country with a vast area (327 times the size of Belgium) and immense natural resources, it chose "Man and Space" as the theme for its participation in the World Expo,
In this pavilion of 3,000 m2, 23 sectors introduced you to the many aspects of the life of 16 million inhabitants: population, government, participation in international organisations, education, health and well-being, music and theatre, literature, entertainment, scientific progress, energy, transport, industry, communications, agriculture, fishing, forestry, the North, mining, employment and labour and international trade.

As you walked through this panorama of Canadian life, visiting the Fine Arts Gallery, the Library -, and the Music Room, you imagined what the Canadian is like, how he lives, thinks, works and recreates.

Canada, like Belgium, is a bilingual country, but its inhabitants are of extremely varied origins:
The pavilion's layout was designed to make your visit pleasant and comfortable: :you could rest in attractive places, decorated with taste and originality; the restaurant and bar, each opening onto a terrace, invited you to relax.

In the gardens around the pavilion, you could find some of the Canadian landscape - maples, conifers, tundra.

Young men and women representing the ten provinces of Canada cordially invited you to get to know their country. By accepting this invitation from a friendly nation, you would discover how an energetic people has, in three and a half centuries, made a country, the second largest in size, the fourth largest trading power in the world.

© Guide Officiel Exposition Universelle de Bruxelles 1958 - Desclée & Co

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Canada


Canada à l'exposition de Bruxelles 1958

© Expo58 - EGICARTE
Architecte(s) : Ch. Greenberg

Parce que le Canada est un pays aux vastes étendues (327 fois la superficie de la Belgique) et qu'il est doté d'immenses ressources naturelles, il avait choisi comme thème de sa, participation à l'Exposition universelle : «l'homme et l'espace »,
Dans ce pavillon de 3.000 m2, 23 secteurs vous faisait connaître les multiples aspects de la vie de 16 millions d'Habitants ; la population, le régime gouvernemental, la participation dans les organismes internationaux, l'éducation, la santé et le bien-être, la musique et le théâtre, la littérature, les, divertissements, le progrès scientifique, :l'énergie, les transports, l'industrie, les communications. l'agriculture, la pêche, l'exploitation forestière, le Nord, l'exploitation minière, l'emploi et la main-d'œuvre et le commerce international."

En parcourant ce panorama de la vie canadienne, en visitant la galerie des Beaux-Arts, la bibliothèque -, et la salle de musique, vous vous imaginiez ce qu'est le Canadien, comment il vit, pense, travaille et se récrée.

Le Canada, comme la Belgique (est un pays- bilingue, mais ses habitants sont d'origines extrêmement variées:
L'aménagement du pavillon avait été conçu de façon à rendre votre visite agréable et confortable : :vous pouviez vous reposer dans des lieux attrayants, décorés avec goût et originalité ; le restaurant et le bar, donnant chacun sur une terrasse, vous invitaient à la détente.

Dans les jardins autour du pavillon, vous trouviez certaines particularités du paysage canadien érables, conifères, toundra.

Des Jeunes gens et Jeunes filles représentant les dix provinces du Canada vous invitaient cordialement à connaître leur pays. En répondant à cette invitation d'une nation amie, vous découvriez comment un ,peuple énergique a, en trois siècles et demi, fait d'un pays, le deuxième en étendue, la quatrième puissance commerciale au monde.

© Guide Officiel Exposition Universelle de Bruxelles 1958 - Desclée & Co