Brussels World and International Exhibition 1958 - Expo58

Review of the world for a more human world

April 17, 1958 - October 19, 1958


Back - List of Pavilions

Germany

Germany at the Exhibition Brussels 1958

© Expo58 - EGICARTE

Architect(s) : E. Eiermann et W. Rossow

In eight pavilions, the Federal Republic of Germany gave the theme of the exhibition a special meaning: "Man and Progress". This interpretation was based on the conviction that the technical and scientific achievements of our time only make sense if they help the community and the individual to achieve a life worthy of man.

Thus, this section, neglecting the economic and commercial aspect, focused on describing everyday reality with the help of examples from private life: profession, leisure, work, family life, etc.

The various environments in which people live were also described in detail: the city, the village, the home, the factory, the office, the school, the hospital, etc. In each of these sectors, the German section showed how and to what extent scientific progress gives man who knows how to use it the possibility of being happier.

Would you like to spend a few hours in today's Germany? Germany is returning to the roots of its culture, to the Goethean tradition: you could see for yourself in the largest pavilion where cultural meetings were held. Afterwards you would go to the brasserie or the restaurant and find the typical atmosphere of German life.

The whole section answered the question: how does Germany today fulfil the humanitarian, cultural and social tasks evoked by the theme of the exhibition?

© Guide Officiel Exposition Universelle de Bruxelles 1958 - Desclée & Co

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Allemagne


Allemagne à l'exposition de Bruxelles 1958

© Expo58 - EGICARTE
Architecte(s) : E. Eiermann et W. Rossow

En huit pavillons, la République Fédérale d'Allemagne donnait au thème de l'Exposition une signification particu1ière : « L'homme et le progrès ». Cette interprétation était basée sur la conviction que les résultats techniques et scientifiques de notre époque n'ont de sens que s'ils aident la collectivité et l'individu à obtenir une existence digne de l’homme.

C'est ainsi que cette section, négligeant l'aspect économique et commercial, s'attachait à décrire à l’aide d'exemple relevant de la vie privée, la réalité quotidienne : la profession, les loisirs, le travail, la vie de famille, etc.

Les divers milieux, dans lesquels évolue la population étaient également détaillés: la ville, le village, la maison, l'usine, le bureau, l'école, l'hôpital, etc. Dans chacun de ces secteurs, la section allemande montrait de quelle manière et dans quelle mesure le progrès scientifique donne à l'homme qui sait s'en servir, la possibilité d'être plus heureux.

Vouliez-vous vivre quelques heures dans l'Allemagne d'aujourd'hui? Celle-ci renoue avec les sources de sa culture, avec la tradition goethèenne ,: vous en jugiez dans le plus grand pavillon où se tenaient les réunions culturelles. Vous rendant ensuite à la brasserie ou au restaurant, vous trouviez l'atmosphère typique de la vie allemande.

Toute la section répondait à la question : comment l'Allemagne d'aujourd'hui remplit-elle les tâches humanitaires, culturelles et sociales évoquées par le thème de l'Exposition?

© Guide Officiel Exposition Universelle de Bruxelles 1958 - Desclée & Co