Brussels World and International Exhibition 1958 - Expo58

Review of the world for a more human world

April 17, 1958 - October 19, 1958


Back - List of Pavilions

Tourism and Travel

Tourism and Travel at the Exhibition Expo Brussels 1958

© Expo58

In the central Folklore section, life-size figures dressed in folk costumes are placed on conveyor belts and turntables. Relief, colour and movement give these scenes a lively character, accentuated by the lighting and the special atmosphere created by a low ceiling.

The "coastline" stand provides a varied and pleasant picture of all the possibilities offered by our seaside resorts.

The "Ardenne-Meuse" section evokes this beautiful region.

The "Cities of Art" of each Belgian province, with a giant photo of one of the main monuments, a colour reproduction of a work of art and a cast of an old sculpture, present a synthesis of the Belgian provinces.

Ostend, Spa, Chaudfontaine... our cities of clear, pleasant and cheerful waters call you to the thermalism stand.

A selection of Belgian arts and crafts products is also on display, as well as the achievements of social tourism in Belgium.

And, if after having glimpsed the joys offered by a touristic and artistic Belgium the desire came to you to travel through it, you would find, in one of the two rooms of 60 places each, a luminous map indicating the various circuits to be undertaken. Slides, commented in six languages by means of a special device allowing individual listening, would document you even more perfectly, on the treasures of Belgium.

In the reception room, nine paintings by the best Belgian provincial painters are on display. There is also an important piece of copperware in the middle of a small garden in front of the folklore stand and a lovely ceramic fountain.

The tourism and travel group enlivens your visit with a presentation of flower beds.

The major Belgian tourist associations, clubs and travel agencies are on hand to help you get to know Belgium better.

© Guide Officiel Exposition Universelle de Bruxelles 1958 - Desclée & Co

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Tourisme et Voyages


Tourisme et Voyages à l'exposition de Bruxelles 1958

© Expo58

Dans la partie centrale réservée au Folklore, des personnages de grandeur réelle, vêtus de costumes folkloriques, sont placés sur des tapis roulants et des plaques tournantes. Le relief, la couleur et le mouvement donnent à ces scènes un caractère vivant, accentué par l'éclairage et l'atmosphère particulière créée par un plafond bas.

Le stand « littoral » constitue un tableau varié et plaisant de toutes les possibilités offertes par nos stations balnéaires.

La section « Ardenne-Meuse » évoque cette jolie région.

Les « Villes d'Arts » de chaque province belge, comportant pour chacune de celles-ci une photo géante d'un des principaux monuments, la reproduction en couleurs d'une œuvre d'art et le moulage d'une sculpture ancienne présentent une synthèse des provinces belges.

Ostende, Spa, Chaudfontaine... nos villes d'eaux claires, plaisantes et riantes vous appellent au stand du thermalisme.

Une sélection des produits de l'artisanat d'art belge est également exposée, de même que les réalisations du tourisme social en Belgique.

Et, si d'avoir entrevu les joies offertes par une Belgique touristique et artistique le désir vous venait de la parcourir, vous trouveriez, dans l'une des deux salles de 60 places chacune, une carte lumineuse vous indiquant les divers circuits à entreprendre. Des diapositives, commentées en six langues au moyen d'un appareillage spécial permettant l'écoute Individuelle, vous documenteraient plus parfaitement encore, sur les trésors de la Belgique.

Dans le salon d'accueil sont exposés neuf tableaux des meilleurs peintres provinciaux belges. Citons également une œuvre importante en dinanderie, placée au milieu d'un petit jardin devant le stand du folklore et une adorable fontaine en céramique.

Le groupe du tourisme et des voyages égaie votre visite par une présentation de parterres fleuris.

Les grandes associations belges de tourisme, les clubs et les agences de voyages se tiennent à votre disposition pour vous aider à mieux connaître la Belgique.

© Guide Officiel Exposition Universelle de Bruxelles 1958 - Desclée & Co