Brussels World and International Exhibition 1958 - Expo58

Review of the world for a more human world

April 17, 1958 - October 19, 1958


Back - List of Pavilions

Post and Telecommunications

Post and Telecommunications at the Exhibition Brussels 1958

© Expo58 - EGICARTE

Architect(s) : Schmidt et Fourmanoit

Unlimited development marked this area of human relations.

The ultra-modern style of the 3,600 m2 palace was intended to express this.

The main architectural element was a rotunda, technically realised by a tent-like structure with a central mast supporting the suspended roof with the help of guy wires.

The building on the right was reserved for the Post Office and allowed you to see for yourself the remarkable improvements made in this area by the Belgian public services. Amongst others: an electronic sorting machine which guarantees a single operator the sorting of 3,500 letters per hour, or the work cell of the Postal Cheques illustrating the use of the electronic machine and serving to automatically establish the debits and credits of all accounts by a network of 8,000 members.

If you were a philatelist, a permanent exhibition presented you the most beautiful collections gathered
in Belgium. The special stamp of the Exhibition was printed in front of the public.

The Régie des Télégraphes et des Téléphones gave a prestigious demonstration with an automatic international long-distance centre, electronic bays in operation, modern equipment such as telex, telephoto, etc.. The Belgian National Institute of Radio and Television (INRT) was present at the event.

The Belgian National Institute of Radio and Television occupied an important place in the Palace by controlling the retransmission of the TV programmes received in the Exhibition area.

The Belgian radio and television manufacturers presented their most modern achievements and finally the class of remote controls, telemetry and cybernetics offered to the eyes: an electronic tower, as well as a complete radar equipment and an installation demonstrating the current possibility of electronically controlling a zone of 200 km radius.

© Guide Officiel Exposition Universelle de Bruxelles 1958 - Desclée & Co

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Postes et Télécommunications


Postes et Télécommunications à l'exposition de Bruxelles 1958

© Expo58 - EGICARTE
Architecte(s) : Schmidt et Fourmanoit

Un développement sans limite marquait ce secteur des relations entre les hommes.

C'est ce que tendait à exprimer le style ultra-moderne de ce palais d'une superficie de 3.600 m2.

L'élément architectural principal était une rotonde réalisée techniquement par une structure en forme de tente avec mât central supportant, à l'aide de haubans. la couverture suspendue.

Le bâtiment de droite était réservé à la Poste et vous permettait de juger de visu des perfectionnements remarquables réalisés en la matière par les services publics belges. Entre autres : une trieuse électronique garantissant à un seul opérateur le tri de 3.500 lettres à l'heure, ou encore là cellule de travail des Chèques Postaux illustrant l'emploi de la machine électronique et servant à établir automatiquement les débits et crédits de tout compte par réseau de 8.000 affiliés.

Si vous étiez philatéliste une exposition permanente vous présentait les plus belles collections rassemblées
en Belgique. Le timbre spécial de l'Exposition était imprimé devant le public.

La Régie des Télégraphes et des Téléphones faisait une démonstration de prestige avec un centre interurbain international automatique. des baies électroniques en fonctionnement, des appareillages modernes tels que telex, téléphoto, etc .. , de nouveaux tarifeurs à fiches perforées et du matériel industriel se rapportant aux communications sans fil.

L'Institut National belge de Radiodiffusion et Télévision occupait une place importante dans le Palais en contrôlant la retransmission des programmes de T. V. captés dans l'enceinte de l'Exposition.

les constructeurs belges de. radio et de télévision présentaient leurs réalisations les plus modernes et enfin la classe des télécommandes, télémesures et de la cybernétique offrait aux regards : une tour électronique, ainsi qu’un équipement complet de radar et une installation démontrant, la possibilité actuelle de contrôler électroniquement une zone de 200 km de rayon.

© Guide Officiel Exposition Universelle de Bruxelles 1958 - Desclée & Co