Back - List of Pavilions

Tobacco - Expo Brussels 1958

Tobacco at the Exhibition Expo Brussels 1958
© Expo58
Architect(s) : M. Gérard

This pavilion, with its metal frame delimiting solid or glazed walls, was essentially functional in its architecture.

The facades overlooked a wide outside passage where you could see some tobacco plants being grown and where an information desk had been set up for you.

The route indicated for your visit bypassed a real small open factory, informing you about the usual means of production.

Highly precise prototype machines were equipped with control devices to guarantee the quality and perfect packaging of the finished products. The machines produced cigars and cigarettes from the tobacco leaf at an impressive speed, ready for consumption.

Various motifs, both decorative and documentary, completed this demonstration: A large fresco illustrated the theme "Man and Tobacco". A large fresco illustrated the theme "Man and Tobacco", allowing you to situate tobacco in relation to the producer and consumer by evoking, on the one hand, the improvement of working conditions in the production sectors and, on the other hand, the improvement of the products.

Light boxes showed photographic documents that informed you about the history of each of the international tobacco species, about the cultivation and transport of tobacco, about the Belgian industry and its economic and artistic repercussions.

You could then admire an important collection of pipes from all over the world, displayed in glass cases.

Some of them date back to the 15th century.

You will end your visit in the exhibitors' room, where all the Belgian producers of tobacco, cigarettes, cigarillos and cigars were gathered.

© Guide Officiel Exposition Universelle de Bruxelles 1958 - Desclée & Co

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Tabac


Tabac à l'exposition de Bruxelles 1958

© Expo58
Architecte(s) : M. Gérard

Ce pavillon, dont l'ossature métallique délimitait des parois pleines où vitrées, présentait une architecture essentiellement fonctionnelle.

Les façades surplombaient un large passage extérieur où vous pouviez voir cultivées quelques plantes de tabac et où un bureau d'Informations avait été installé à votre intention.

Le parcours indiqué pour votre visite contournait une véritable petite usine ouverte, vous renseignant sur les moyens usuels de fabrication.

Des machines prototypes d'une grande précision étaient munies d'appareils de contrôle garantissant la qualité et le parfait conditionnement des produits finis. Elles débitaient, à partir de la feuille de tabac, à une allure impressionnante, soit des cigares, soit des cigarettes empaquetées et prêtes à la consommation.

Divers motifs, autant décoratifs que documentaires, complétaient cette démonstration : Une grande fresque illustrait le thème « l'Homme et le Tabac ». Elle vous permettait de situer le tabac par rapport à l'homme producteur et consommateur en évoquant d'une part l'amélioration des conditions de travail dans les secteurs de production et d'autre part, l'amélioration des produits.

Des caissons lumineux présentaient des documents photographiques qui vous renseignaient sur l'historique de chacune des essences internationales, sur la culture et le transport du tabac, sur l'industrie belge et ses répercussions sur les plans économique et artistique.

Vous admiriez ensuite une importante collection de pipes de provenance mondiale exposées dans des vitrines.

Certains exemplaires dataient du XVe siècle.

Et vous terminiez votre visite par la salle des exposants où étaient réunis tous les producteurs belges de tabac, cigarettes, cigarillos et cigares.

© Guide Officiel Exposition Universelle de Bruxelles 1958 - Desclée & Co