Brussels World and International Exhibition 1958 - Expo58

Review of the world for a more human world

April 17, 1958 - October 19, 1958


Back - List of Pavilions

Press

Press at the Exhibition Expo Brussels 1958

© Expo58

The Press group brings together the daily press, periodicals, filmed news, radio news and television.

The beige press group divides its various themes along four corridors forming a large X, the centre of which is a small square with a state-of-the-art newsstand.

In this square, you see before you the double stand reserved for the Belgian daily press and the periodical press, whose background - an unfolded newspaper of giant dimensions - opens the windows of current events.

It hides a tunnel which you enter through a tilted plane in which an ensemble of sound and light allows you to witness the birth of the event leading to the news: the dramatic sinking of the Italian liner "Andrea-Doria".

You then see how the news is followed by the writing, composition, production and distribution of the newspaper, whether it is a daily or a periodical.

From this tunnel comes an endless chain of newspapers that circulate in the stand. The contribution of the press to human relations, its role in the dissemination of technical progress, its civilizing and social progress action are successively highlighted, while a miniature rotary press distributes the souvenir visiting card to visitors and several screens give the latest information and news of the day.

Another stand, that of radio and television, is presented in the form of an aquarium where you can see radio and television reporters at work in soundproofed double-glazed studios.

The economic importance of the press in Belgium and its contribution to the development of free enterprise is the central theme of a new joint press stand in the same square opposite the large print media stand. In small, modern display cases, the various requirements of press advertising are presented in a witty way.

Along the entire section devoted to information, a Bellino central receives and transmits photographs, while the Belga Agency works before your eyes.

© Guide Officiel Exposition Universelle de Bruxelles 1958 - Desclée & Co

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Presse


Presse à l'exposition de Bruxelles 1958

© Expo58

Le groupe de la Presse réunit la presse quotidienne, la presse périodique, les actualités filmées, l'information-radio et la télévision.

La presse beige répartit ses différents thèmes le long de quatre couloirs formant un grand X, dont le centre se présente sous la forme d'une petite place ornée d'un kiosque à journaux ultra-moderne.

Sur cette place, vous voyez devant vous le double stand réservé à la presse quotidienne et la presse périodique belges, dont le fond— un journal déplié aux dimensions géantes-— ouvre les fenêtres de l'actualité.

Il cache un tunnel auquel vous accédez par un plan Incliné dans lequel un ensemble de son et de lumière vous permet d'assister à la naissance de l'événement pour aboutir à la nouvelle : il s'agit du dramatique naufrage du paquebot italien « Andrea-Doria ».

Vous voyez ensuite comment de la nouvelle on en arrive à la rédaction, la composition, la fabrication et à la distribution du journal, qu'il soit quotidien ou périodique.

De ce tunnel sort une chaîne sans fin porteuse de journaux qui circule dans le stand. L'apport de la presse dans les relations humaines, son rôle dans la diffusion des progrès techniques, son action civilisatrice et de progrès social sont successivement mis en évidence, tandis qu'une rotative miniature distribue aux visiteurs la Carte de visite du souvenir et que plusieurs écrans donnent les dernières informations et les actualités du jour.

Un autre stand, celui de la radio et de la télévision, se présente sous forme d'un aquarium où vous pouvez voir au travail les reporters de la radio et de la télévision, dans des studios à double vitre insonorisée.

Toujours autour de la même place faisant face au grand stand de la presse écrite, l'importance économique de la presse en Belgique et sa contribution à l'essor de la libre entreprise, constitue le thème central d'un nouveau stand commun à la presse. Dans de petites vitrines modernes se trouvent représentés de façon spirituelle les divers impératifs de la publicité presse.

Longeant toute la partie consacrée à l'information, une centrale Bellino, reçoit et transmet des photographies, tandis que l'Agence Belga travaille sous vos yeux.

© Guide Officiel Exposition Universelle de Bruxelles 1958 - Desclée & Co