Brussels World and International Exhibition 1958 - Expo58

Review of the world for a more human world

April 17, 1958 - October 19, 1958


Back - List of Pavilions

Professional Training

Professional Training at the Exhibition Expo Brussels 1958

© Expo58

The mission of vocational education and training is described to you in a general overview of its aims, structure and foundations.

Technical education is not only intended to organise the learning of trades, but also to contribute to the development of the human personality through this comprehensive preparation for modern life.

The structure of vocational education meets all the needs of the students by its variety.

The foundations of an education which evolves in parallel with progress are: collaboration between those responsible for education and the economic and social environment, an active pedagogy specially adapted to all categories of students, flexible regulations which allow schools to adapt their teaching to needs, and material equipment which is constantly renewed as required.

In addition to the general summary illustrating this theme, three other summaries allow you to document more fully the particularities of the organisation of vocational training. These three summaries concern: secondary education, higher education, short-time education and apprenticeship.

More than 600 different branches of education are available to students: industrial and craft education for boys, industrial, craft and household education for girls, agricultural education, applied arts, commercial education, social service education, health service education and technical education (teacher training).

Two of these specialisations are presented in detail: education in the electro-mechanical sector and education with an artistic character.

The exhibition is complemented by permanent film shows, scientific demonstrations and popularisation in the "futurama" theatre at the back of Palace XI. Special sessions take place on Mondays all day long; on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays and Fridays in the morning: commented fashion shows, model lessons, lectures, material demonstrations.

© Guide Officiel Exposition Universelle de Bruxelles 1958 - Desclée & Co

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Formation Professionnelle


Formation Professionnelle à l'exposition de Bruxelles 1958

© Expo58

La mission de la formation professionnelle vous est décrite dans une synthèse générale développant ses buts, sa structure et ses fondements.

L'enseignement technique n'a pas seulement pour but d'organiser l'apprentissage des métiers, mais, il contribue également à épanouir la personnalité humaine grâce à cette préparation complète à la vie moderne.

La structure de la formation professionnelle répond par sa variété à tous les besoins des élèves.

Les fondements d'un enseignement qui évolue parallèlement au progrès sont : la collaboration entre les responsables de l'enseignement et les milieux économiques et sociaux, une pédagogie active spécialement adaptée à toutes les catégories d'élèves, une réglementation souple permettant aux écoles d'adapter leur enseignement aux besoins et un équipement matériel constamment renouvelé selon les nécessités.

A côté de la synthèse générale illustrant ce thème, trois autres synthèses vous permettent de vous documenter plus complètement sur les particularités de l'organisation de la formation professionnelle. Ces trois synthèses concernent : l'enseignement du niveau secondaire, l'enseignement du niveau supérieur, l'enseignement à horaire réduit et l'apprentissage.

Plus de 600 orientations différentes peuvent être choisies par les élèves dans les branches ci-après : l'enseignement industriel et artisanal pour garçons, l'enseignement industriel, artisanal et ménager pour jeunes filles, l'enseignement agricole, les arts appliqués, l'enseignement commercial, Renseignement du service social, l'enseignement du service sanitaire et 'l'enseignement normal technique (formation des maîtres).

Vous retrouvez la présentation concrète de deux de ces spécialisations : l'enseignement dans un secteur électro-mécanique et l'enseignement à caractère d'art.

L'exposition est agrémentée de représentations permanentes de films, de démonstrations scientifiques et de vulgarisation organisées dans le théâtre « futurama » au fond du palais XI. Des séances spéciales ont lieu le lundi toute la journée; les mardi, mercredi, jeudi, vendredi dans la matinée : défilés de mode commentés, leçons modèles, conférences, démonstration de matériel.

© Guide Officiel Exposition Universelle de Bruxelles 1958 - Desclée & Co