Brussels World and International Exhibition 1958 - Expo58

Review of the world for a more human world

April 17, 1958 - October 19, 1958


Back - List of Pavilions

The Glass, Ceramics and Terracotta Industries

The Glass, Ceramics and Terracotta Industries at the Exhibition Expo Brussels 1958

© Expo58

Architect(s) : V. Cols , J. De Roeck

The "Fire Arts" pavilion was designed to highlight the progress made in manufacturing methods and the many ways in which the products on display could be used. It was intended to show how the efforts made in these fields have lightened man's workload and contributed to his well-being.

The building itself was already an exhibition of many of the products of the three participating industries: brick bas-reliefs and clerestory walls, decorative coverings in multicoloured ceramics, walls with large-scale glass or coloured glass and a flamboyant emblem in enamelled glass enhanced the exterior.

The interior layout had wide aisles that allowed easy access to the display islands of the three classes of products, surrounding the pavilion's focal point. The focus of the pavilion included monumental symbolic constructions characterising the participating industries and erected in the material produced by each of them.

In the exhibition islands, which were provided with walking paths, the many different products of the three classes, displayed in an original way, could be examined closely and at leisure.

A reception and information service could provide all useful information and facilitate contacts with the exhibitors.

The elevated hall, with its large windows, was the place where the three industries displayed their best products. From the balcony of this hall, slides were projected explaining the manufacture and the particularities of the products on display.

An auditorium, adjacent to the exhibition hall, completed the building. It was used for the screening of documentary films. It was also used for conferences and specialist meetings.

© Guide Officiel Exposition Universelle de Bruxelles 1958 - Desclée & Co

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Les Industries du Verre de la Céramique et de la Terre Cuite


Les Industries du Verre de la Céramique et de la Terre Cuite à l'exposition de Bruxelles 1958

© Expo58
Architecte(s) : V. Cols , J. De Roeck

Le pavillon des «Arts du Feu» a été conçu de manière à mettre en évidence les progrès réalisés dans les méthodes de fabrication et les possibilités multiples d'utilisation des produits exposés. Il visait à montrer combien les efforts accomplis dans ces domaines ont permis d'alléger le labeur de l'homme et de contribuer à son bien-être.

Le bâtiment même constituait déjà une exposition de bon nombre des produits des trois industries participantes : des bas-reliefs en briques et murs en claustra, des revêtements décoratifs en céramique multicolore, des parois pourvues de glaces de grandes dimensions ou de verres de couleurs ainsi qu!un emblème flamboyant en verre émaillé en rehaussaient l'aspect extérieur.

Son agencement intérieur comportait de larges allées de circulation qui permettaient l'accès aisé aux îlots d'exposition des produits des trois classes, entourant le centre d'intérêt du pavillon. Ce centre d'intérêt réunissait des constructions symboliques monumentales caractérisant les industries participantes et érigées dans le matériau produit par chacune d'elles.

Dans les îlots d'exposition, pourvus de chemins promenoirs, les multiples productions des trois classes, étalées de façon originale, pouvaient être examinées de près et à loisir.

Un service d'accueil et d'information pouvait vous fournir tous renseignements utiles et vous faciliter les contacts avec les exposants.

Le hall surélevé, constitué de grands vitrages, était le lieu d'exposition des produits de choix des trois industries. C’est du balcon de ce hall que étaient projetées des diapositives expliquant par l'image et par le texte la fabrication et les particularités des produits exposés.

Un auditorium, contigu au hall d'exposition, complétait le bâtiment. Il accueillait les spectateurs désireux d'assister à la projection de films documentaires. Il était également utilisé pour les conférences et réunions spécialisées.

© Guide Officiel Exposition Universelle de Bruxelles 1958 - Desclée & Co