Brussels World and International Exhibition 1958 - Expo58

Review of the world for a more human world

April 17, 1958 - October 19, 1958


Back - List of Pavilions

Agriculture, Horticulture, Livestock

Agriculture, Horticulture, Livestock at the Exhibition Expo Brussels 1958

© Expo58

Architect(s) : H. Courtens et M. Dam

Near the Atomium Gate, you were in the countryside: three sets of pavilions and a farm had been erected in the middle of gardens with water games and meadows where remarkable specimens of Belgian livestock grazed and frolicked.

In the reception pavilion, the Ministry of Agriculture and its parastatal organisations presented a summary of their activities aimed at "producing more and better for the well-being of mankind".

Agricultural extension, research and post-school information were developed in the extension of this pavilion. A triangular wing grouped together the agricultural associations, the agricultural credit organisations, the livestock unions and the associations for the fight against livestock diseases.

"Belgium, Garden of Europe" was the theme that inspired the Group to create its superb gardens.

The Belgian countryside was in constant progress:
You could see this for yourself when you visited the medium-sized farm where the livestock was free-stall.

Behind the farmhouse, you could find flower, vegetable or fruit growing in the open air or under glass.

The second group of pavilions was reserved for soil cultivation, agricultural machinery, means of production: fertilisers and soil improvers, plant protection products, seeds and seedlings, compound feed for livestock.

In the third group, the main products of agriculture, horticulture and breeding as well as the means of valorisation and distribution were presented. Among the latter, the refrigeration industry occupied an important place.

An active fish auction allowed you to learn about this modern means of distribution.

In the "Azalia" restaurant, Belgian agricultural and livestock products formed the basis of delicious specialities. The atmosphere was particularly pleasant on Sundays: the Belgian rural folklore games were a charming spectacle.

© Guide Officiel Exposition Universelle de Bruxelles 1958 - Desclée & Co

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Agriculture, Horticulture, Elevage


Agriculture, Horticulture, Elevage  à l'exposition de Bruxelles 1958

© Expo58
Architecte(s) : H. Courtens et M. Dam

Près de la Porte de l'Atomium, vous vous trouviez à la campagne : trois ensembles de pavillons et une ferme avaient été érigés au milieu de jardins agrémentés de Jeux d'eau et de prés où paissaient et s'ébattaient de remarquables spécimens de l'élevage belge.

Le Ministère de "Agriculture et ses Organismes parastataux vous présentaient dans le pavillon de réception un résumé de leurs activités qui tendaient à "produire plus et mieux pour le bien-être de l'homme".

La vulgarisation, la recherche et renseignement postscolaire agricoles étaient développés dans le prolongement de ce pavillon. Une aile de forme triangulaire groupait les associations agricoles, les organismes de crédit agricole, les syndicats d'élevage et les associations de lutte contre les maladies du cheptel.

«La Belgique, Jardin de l’Europe », tel était le thème qui avait inspiré au Groupe la réalisation de ses superbes jardins.

La campagne belge était en perpétuelle progression :
Vous pouviez en juger en visitant la ferme de type moyen où le bétail jouissait de la stabulation libre.

Derrière la ferme, vous trouviez les cultures florales, maraîchères ou fruitières en plein air ou sous verre.

Le second groupe de pavillons était réservé au travail du sol, aux machines agricoles, aux moyens de production : les engrais et amendements, les produits phytopharmaceutiques, les semences et plants, les aliments composés pour le bétail.

Dans le troisième groupe, ,les principaux produits de l'agriculture, de l'horticulture et de l'élevage ainsi que les moyens de valorisation et distribution vous étaient présentés. Parmi ces derniers, l'Industrie du Froid occupait une place importante.

Une criée en activité vous permettait de vous initier à ce moyen moderne de distribution.

Au restaurant « Azalia » les produits de l'agriculture et de l'élevage belges formaient la base de spécialités délicieuses. L'ambiance y était particulièrement agréable le dimanche : les jeux du folklore rural belge étaient un spectacle charmant.

© Guide Officiel Exposition Universelle de Bruxelles 1958 - Desclée & Co