Back - List of Pavilions

Corporate Union of French Art - Expo Paris 1937

Corporate Union of French Art at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1937
© Aldo
Architect(s) : Tournon

One entered a large room where the banners of the Métiers de France were hung, this was the headquarters of the Union Corporative de l'Art Français.

The aim of this grouping was to defend French art by creating a permanent link between the artists who created models and the manufacturers responsible for reproducing them.

A fruitful work had already been carried out in an unreserved collection with the Federation of Creative Artists, the Federation of Art Trades of France, the National Federation of the Building Industry and the Central Union of Decorative Arts.

Under the same roof was the class, sets and costumes of the Theatre.

While contemplating models and costumes, skillfully made by J. Copeau and by what was called the "cartel" which gathered the names of Baty, Dullin, Jouvet, Rocher.

In the same way you could see, next to a summary of the artistic task accomplished by the subsidised, the evolution of religious, workers' and scout theatres. A laboratory theatre with a small stage and a hall with two hundred seats was used to demonstrate the staging and was available to an irregular theatre every week.

Foreign participants included Denmark, Poland and Czechoslovakia.

In the courtyard of the Pavilion there was a green theatre.

The northern part, along the quay, was entirely occupied by the exhibition of fabrics.

The Rayon Spinners' Union showed not only samples of their products, but also how they were used in their applications.

A large decorative frieze showed the successive stages of the products from manufacture to use by customers. Two compartments showed the methods used by the exhibitors, one for production and the other for application.

On the wall was a large map of French artificial textiles.

On the other hand, under high columnar display cases were silks from Lyon, the Paris area and Saint-Etienne. The wools, cottons, dyes and prints were presented in a decorative way.

In the left wing, on the first floor, were the industries of yarns of all materials, as they were manufactured, milled and twisted for weaving or household use. Light colours and floral designs were adopted for upholstery fabrics which you would then admire alongside tapestries and carpets. Finally, the exhibition of lace, embroidery and trimmings proved the vitality of these very old French industries and presented them in the different uses that modern life attributes to them: sewing, lingerie, furnishing.

Still in the same area, the stands of the Mechanography and Stationery Industries were installed.

A frieze explained in an attractive way the use of mechanography and modern methods of organisation in commercial and industrial life.

The exhibitors had the opportunity to demonstrate their machines, so you could see the typewriters, statisticians, calculators, franking machines, stenographers, duplicators and checkers in action.

You could also have explanations given to you on the latest accounting methods, on the keeping of records and, in general, on the organisation of the office. Showcases were set up for stationery and office supplies.

Finally, the Gobelins factory, in the Pavillon d'honneur, presented some of the magnificent production of the last three years, some of the most precious decorations that can enrich the framework of collective or individual life. In the large monumental peristyle, here are "The Niger" and "The Mekong" after Ducos de la Haille, "Messidor" and "Thermidor" after Deshayes.

On the ground floor, in the large room, you could contemplate "Scenes of Spanish life" after Sert and two "Pastorals" after Jules Flandrin, and finally in a special room, "The triumph of peace" after Othon Friez. Other tapestries were exhibited on the first floor.

Copyright By Société pour le Développement du Tourisme

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Union Corporative de l'Art Français


Union Corporative de l'Art Français à l'exposition de Paris 1937

© Aldo
Architecte(s) : Tournon

On entrait dans une grande salle où étaient accrochées les bannières des Métiers de France, c'était le siège de l'Union Corporative de l'Art Français.

Le but de ce groupement était de défendre l'art français en créant une liaison permanente entre les artistes créateurs de modèles et les industriels chargés de reproduire ceux-ci.

Déjà un travail fructueux avait été réalisé dans une collection sans réserve avec la Fédération des Artistes Créateurs, la Fédération des Métiers d'Art de France, la Fédération Nationale du Bâtiment et l'Union Centrale des Arts Décoratifs.

Sous le même toit s'abritait la classe, décors et costumes de Théâtre.

En contemplant des maquettes et des costumes, habilement des efforts effectués par J. Copeau et par ce qu'on avait appelé le "cartel" qui réunissait les noms de Baty, de Dullin, de Jouvet, de Rocher.

De même vous pouviez voir à côté d'un résumé de la tâche artistique accomplie par les subventionnés, l'évolution des théâtres religieux, ouvriers, des scouts. Un théâtre-laboratoire avec une petite scène et une salle de deux cents places servait à la démonstration de la mise en scène et était, chaque semaine, à la disposition d'un théâtre irrégulier.

La participation étrangère était assurée par le Danemark, la Pologne, la Tchécoslovaquie.

Dans la cour du Pavillon se trouvait un théâtre de verdure.

La partie nord, longeant le quai était entièrement occupée par l'exposition des Tissus.

Le syndicat des Filateurs de rayonne montrait non seulement des échantillons de leurs produits, mais encore comment ils étaient utilisés dans leurs applications.

Une grande frise décorative indiquait le schéma des étapes successives des produits depuis la fabrication jusqu'à l'usage, qu'en faisaient les clients. Deux alvéoles caractérisaient bien les méthodes employées par les exposants, l'une pour la production, l'autre pour l'application.

Au mur une grande carte des textiles artificiels français.

D'autre part, sous de hautes vitrines en forme de colonnes se trouvait les soieries de Lyon, des environs de Paris, de Saint-Etienne. Les laines, les cotons, les teintures, les impressions faisaient l'objet d'une présentation décorative.

Dans l'aile gauche, à l'étage, c'étaient les industries du fil de toute matière, tel qu'il était fabriqué, mouliné, retordu en vue des tissages ou de l'usage ménager. Des couleurs claires, un décors floral étaient adoptés pour les tissus d'ameublement que vous admiriez ensuite à côté des tapisseries et des tapis. Enfin l'exposition des Dentelles, Broderies, Passementeries prouvait la vitalité de ces très vieilles industries françaises et les présentaient dans les différents emplois que leur attribuait la vie moderne : couture, lingerie, ameublement.

Toujours dans la même agglomération, étaient installés les stands de la Mécanographie et Papeterie.

Une frise expliquait d'une façon attrayante l'emploi de la mécanographie et des méthodes modernes d'organisation dans la vie commerciale et industrielle.

Les exposants avaient la possibilité de faire des démonstrations, vous pouviez voir donc fonctionner les machines à écrire, à statistiques, à calculer, à affranchir, à sténographier, à reproduire, à contrôler.

Vous pouviez de même vous faire donner des explications sur les récentes méthodes de comptabilité; sur la tenue des fiches et, d'une façon générale, sur l'organisation du bureau. Des vitrines étaient aménagées pour la papeterie et les articles de bureau.

Enfin, la manufacture des Gobelins, dans le Pavillon d'honneur, présentait une partie de la magnifique production de ces trois dernières années, décors parmi les plus précieux qui puissent enrichir le cadre de la vie collective ou individuelle. Dans le grand péristyle monumental, voici "Le Niger" et "le Mékong" d'après Ducos de la Haille, "Messidor" et "Thermidor" d'après Deshayes.

Au rez-de-chaussée, dans la grande salle, vous contempliez des "Scènes de la vie espagnole" d'après Sert et deux "Pastorales" d'après Jules Flandrin, enfin dans une salle spéciale, "Le triomphe de la paix" d'après Othon Friez. D'autres tapisseries étaient exposées au premier étage.

Copyright By Société pour le Développement du Tourisme