Back - List of Pavilions

Hachette - Expo Paris 1937

Hachette at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1937
© G. Leyckam
Architect(s) : Douay

In this synthetic capital of the Universe that was the 1937 Arts and Technology Exhibition, MESSAGERIES HACHETTE did not limit its participation to the simple "representation" of a stand or a
pavilion.

Faithful to their essential role, which is to highlight and distribute all that is "printed paper", they built kiosks and sales counters in the main traffic areas-from the Concorde to the Aima and from the Trocadero to the Ecole Militaire; at the Rural Centre, as well as at the Regional Centre, at the Ile des Cygnes and at the Parc des Attractions-whose green colour - which has become a classic today - and lively displays immediately became an integral part of the Exhibition.

There, the public could buy all the newspapers from Paris, the provinces and abroad, as well as books, postcards, maps and official guides to the Exhibition, stationery and, finally, the complete range of French and foreign tobacco.
French and foreign tobacco.

This network of sales outlets was completed by salesmen who, pushing light carts loaded with postcards, maps and guides, brought their active and very "Parisian" life to the margins of the grandiose setting in which they were called upon to operate from the first day.

Salesmen, saleswomen, cashiers, inspectors, deliverymen, motorcyclists, a total of more than two hundred people were needed to organise these services. Thus, MESSAGERIES HACHETTE showed what they could do in a case as particular as an International Exhibition.

What they are, how they work, could be seen in their Pavilion, at the corner of the Cours la Reine and the Alexandre III Bridge, as well as in their stand in the Palais de la Presse.
On the ground floor of the Palais de la Presse, right next to the Cabinet of Théophraste Renaudot, the patron saint of modern journalism, a "travée" had been installed, that is to say, a tiny portion of the dispatch services set up on rue Paul-Lelong - in the heart of Paris - and from which French and foreign newspapers and periodicals leave every day for the smallest of localities. The mechanical devices used to handle what, taking the container for the whole, is simply called "the paper" in the trade. Half-filled boxes, each corresponding to a sales post, counters polished by the incessant rubbing of packages, and life-size mannequins representing the handlers caught in their familiar gestures added to the accuracy of the reconstruction.

A few metres away, under a vast planisphere and behind a long counter with mahogany panelling, saleswomen - alive and well, they were - held all the newspapers and publications distributed in the country at the disposal of visitors.

A few words now about the Hachette Pavilion with its pleasant terrace from which one could enjoy one of the most beautiful views of the Exhibition over the Seine and the Alexandre III Bridge.

In illuminated windows, in the glow of nickel, were displayed all the articles offered for sale by Messageries Hachette: newspapers and publications, popular books and booksellers, luxury books and works in foreign languages, school books, etc. A little further on, there is stationery, inks in ingenious bottles, multicoloured pencils, compass boxes and watercolour boxes; elsewhere again, educational toys and various articles.

Opposite the entrance and arranged in a fan shape, three comfortable cinema rooms where three different documentary films were constantly shown: LA RUE DU PAPIER, MESSAGERIES DE LIVRES and LA PAPETERIE AUX MESSAGERIES HACHETTE. For many months, the public enjoyed the spectacle of the three parts of this moving triptych: the making and distribution of a newspaper; the birth, distribution and sale of a book; and the manufacture and distribution of stationery.

On these screens, every day, the life of the press and publishing industry, hitherto little known to the general public, was exposed. From the newsroom to the lorries, cyclists and criers; from the writer's office to the bookseller's window, from the raw material to the object presented to the buyer, passing through the printing works, the publisher's offices, the factory and the craftsman's workshop, the soberly modern architecture of the "Javel" annex of the Messageries Hachette, the Subscription Services of the rue du Sentier, the 52 Parisian annexes, etc.

These three films reveal to the public all the effort, ingenuity and organisation required to manage to "get out" a newspaper, to present the latest "just published" issue, to put a box of stationery or a pen on sale. A novel with many episodes and a thousand and one images, but also a precious "documentary" with its singularly eloquent figures: 8,000,000 daily newspapers and periodicals distributed every day - 160,000 tonnes of printed matter "processed" every year - 44,000 sales posts - daily still: 325 trains used; 428 cars covering more than 23,000 kilometres; 397 cyclists; 22,000 invoices, 11,000 letters received or sent and, to ensure this enormous volume of work: 8,397 employees.

Such figures suffice without further elaboration to express the amount of effort spent by MESSAGERIES HACHETTE for the dissemination of world information and intellectual culture.

© Golden Book of the 1937 Paris International Exhibition

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Hachette


Hachette à l'exposition de Paris 1937

© G. Leyckam
Architecte(s) : Douay

Dans cette capitale synthétique de l'Univers qu'a été pendant l'année 1937 l'Exposition des Arts et Techniques, les MESSAGERIES HACHETTE n'ont pas limité leur participation à la simple « représentation » d'un stand ou d'un
pavillon.

Fidèles à leur rôle essentiel qui est de mettre en évidence et de diffuser tout ce qui est «papier imprimé», elles édifièrent dans les endroits de grande circulation—de la Concorde à l'Aima et du Trocadéro à l'Ecole Militaire; au Centre Rural, aussi bien qu'au Centre Régional, à l'Ile des Cygnes et au Parc des Attractions — des kiosques et comptoirs de vente-dont la couleur verte — devenue aujourd'hui classique — et les vivants étalages firent aussitôt partie intégrante de l'Exposition.

Là, le public a pu se procurer tous les journaux de Paris, de Province ou de l'Etranger, ainsi que des livres, les cartes postales, plans et guides officiels de l'Exposition, des articles de papeterie et enfin, l'assortiment complet des
tabacs français et étrangers.

Ce réseau de postes de vente était complété par des vendeurs qui, poussant de légers chariots chargés de cartes postales, de plans et de guides, apportèrent dès le premier jour, leur vie active et très « parisienne » en marge du grandiose décor où ils étaient appelés à évoluer.

Vendeurs, vendeuses, encaisseurs, inspecteurs, livreurs, motocyclistes, c'est au total plus de deux cents personnes qu'il fallut pour organiser ces services. Ainsi, les MESSAGERIES HACHETTE ont montré ce qu'elles pouvaient faire dans un cas aussi particulier qu'une Exposition Internationale.

Ce qu'elles sont, comment elles travaillent, on le voyait dans leur Pavillon, à l'angle du Cours la Reine et du Pont Alexandre III, ainsi que dans leur stand du Palais de la Presse.
Au rez-de-chaussée du Palais de la Presse, tout contre le Cabinet de Théophraste Renaudot, patron du journalisme moderne, avait été installée une « travée », c'est-à-dire une portion minuscule des services d'expédition installés rue Paul-Lelong — au cœur de Paris — et d'où partent chaque jour vers les moindres localités, journaux et périodiques français et étrangers. On y voyait les dispositifs mécaniques qui servent à la manipulation de ce que, prenant le contenant pour le tout, on nomme tout simplement en terme de métier « le papier » Des cases à moitié remplies correspondant chacune à un poste de vente, des comptoirs cirés par l'incessant frottement des paquets, des mannequins grandeur nature représentant les manutentionnaires surpris dans leurs gestes familiers ajoutaient encore à l'exactitude de la reconstitution.

A quelques mètres de là, sous un vaste planisphère et derrière un long comptoir aux lambris d'acajou, des vendeuses — bien vivantes celles-là — tenaient à la disposition des visiteurs tous les journaux et publications diffusés dans le pays.

Quelques mots à présent du Pavillon Hachette sommé d'une agréable terrasse d'où l'on découvrait une des plus belles vues de l'Exposition sur la Seine et le Pont Alexandre III.

Dans des vitrines illuminées, dans l'éclat du nickel, étaient exposés tous les articles mis en vente par les Messageries Hachette : journaux et publications, librairie populaire et librairie tout court, livres de luxe et ouvrages en langues étrangères, manuels scolaires, etc.. Un peu plus loin les papiers à lettres, les encres aux ingénieux flaconnages, les portemines multicolores, boîtes de compas et boîtes d'aquarelles ; ailleurs encore, les jouets éducatifs et articles divers.

Face à l'entrée et disposées en éventail, trois confortables salles de cinéma où sans relâche étaient projetés trois films documentaires différents : LA RUE DU PAPIER, MESSAGERIES DE LIVRES et LA PAPETERIE AUX MESSAGERIES HACHETTE. Pendant de longs mois, le public s'est plu au spectacle des trois volets de ce mouvant triptyque : confection et diffusion d'un journal ; naissance, diffusion et mise en vente d'un livre; fabrication et distribution des articles de papeterie.

Sur ces écrans ce fut, chaque jour exposée, la vie jusqu'ici peu connue du grand public, fiévreuse, passionnante, de la Presse et de l'Edition. De la salle de rédaction aux camions, cyclistes et crieurs; du cabinet de l'écrivain à la vitrine du libraire,.de la matière première à l'objet présenté à l'acheteur en passant par l'imprimerie, par les bureaux de l'éditeur, par l'usine et l'atelier de l'artisan, par les architectures sobrement modernes de l'annexe « Javel »des Messageries Hachette, par les Services d'Abonnements de la rue du Sentier, par les 52 annexes parisiennes, etc..

Ces trois films révèlent au public tout ce qu'il faut d'efforts, d'ingéniosité et d'organisation pour parvenir à « sortir » un journal, à présenter le dernier « vient de paraître », à mettre en vente une boîte de papier à lettres ou un stylographe. Roman aux multiples épisodes et aux mille et une images, mais aussi, précieux « documentaire » avec ses chiffres singulièrement éloquents : 8.000.000 de quotidiens et de périodiques distribués chaque jour — 160.000 tonnes d'imprimés « traités » chaque année — 44.000 postes de vente — quotidiennement encore : 325 trains utilisés; 428 voitures automobiles parcourant plus de 23.000 kilomètres; 397 cyclistes; 22.000 factures, 11.000 lettres reçues ou expédiées et, pour assurer cet énorme volume de travail : 8.397 employés.

De pareils chiffres suffisent sans autre développement pour exprimer la somme d'efforts dépensés par les MESSAGERIES HACHETTE pour la diffusion de l'information mondiale et de la culture intellectuelle.

© Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Internationale de Paris 1937