Back - List of Pavilions

Electricity (or light) -

Electricity (or light) at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1937
© Flaugergues
Architect(s) : Mallet-Stevens

The Palace of Electricity stood at the end of the Champ de Mars. Its particularity was that it served as a gateway to the Exhibition (Gate n°23, opposite the Military School).

It was dominated by a tower bearing the new Ouessant lighthouse, which was the most powerful lighthouse in the world (2 billion candles). A long concave construction with bare walls and no openings, it included a vast hall 60 m long. On the panel, a huge fresco by Raoul Dufy, the largest painting in the world, symbolically evoked the entire history of electricity. The artist had used a new, very bright material for the painting, which was given its full value by indirect lighting.

In order to get an idea of the scale of the electrical machines used in the station factories, the hall contained four huge pieces of machinery. The hall opened onto a gallery, a real exhibition of the social role of light. One could see the means by which it was produced and transported, as well as various lighting devices, tubes, incandescent lamps and, in particular, the luminescence laboratory organised by Mr Georges Claude.

Finally, we reached a demonstration room reserved for the applications of electricity to the lighting of cities, roads, workshops and offices, and where regular light shows were given to demonstrate the infinite range of light effects.

As the Palais de l'Electricité, lit by artificial light, had no windows, the wall of the pavilion overlooking the Champ de Mars, a vast 60m long plane, constituted the largest screen in the world for the presentation of films and projections of "chromotypes", which made it a veritable Salon de peinture lumineuse.

The cabin was located underground, some 40 metres away, and appeared to be a blockhouse. This was also where the machine for another attraction was located: a large seven-metre sparkler, the largest effluent in the world, which spouted from two poles in a pool in the garden opposite the Palace of Electricity.

A luxurious guidebook provided visitors with all the details they needed to understand the important exhibition at the Palais de l'Electricité, which was built under the direction of the Compagnie Parisienne d'Electricité with the help of the City of Paris and the professional groups of the electrical energy production and distribution industries.

Copyright By Société pour le Développement du Tourisme

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Electricité (ou de la lumière)


Electricité (ou de la lumière) à l'exposition de Paris 1937

© Flaugergues
Architecte(s) : Mallet-Stevens

Le palais de l'électricité s'élevait au fond du Champ de Mars. Il avait comme particularité de servir de porte à l'Exposition (Porte n°23, face à l'école Militaire).

Il était dominé par une tour portant le nouveau phare d'Ouessant qui était le phare le plus puissant du monde (2 milliards de bougies). Longue construction concave aux murs nus sans aucune baie, il comprenait un vaste hall de 60 m de longueur. Sur le panneau une immense fresque de Raoul Dufy, la plus grande peinture du monde, évoquait symboliquement toute l'histoire de l'électricité. Pour l'exécuter, l'artiste avait usé d'une matière nouvelle, très lumineuse, à laquelle un éclairage indirect donnait son entière valeur.

Afin d’avoir une idée de l'échelle des machines électriques en usage dans les usines des stations, le hall recelait quatre énormes pièces de machines. Le hall donnait sur une galerie, véritable exposition du rôle social de la lumière. On y voyait par quels moyens elle était produite et transportée, et des appareils d'éclairage divers, des tubes, des lampes à incandescence et notamment le laboratoire de la luminescence organisé par M. Georges Claude.

Enfin on aboutissait dans une salle de démonstration réservée aux applications de l'électricité à l'éclairage des villes, des routes, des ateliers et des bureaux, et où étaient donnés régulièrement des spectacles lumineux qui montraient la gamme infinie des jeux de lumière.

Comme le Palais de l'Electricité, éclairé par la lumière artificielle, n'avait aucune fenêtre, le mur du pavillon donnant sur le Champ de Mars, vaste plan de 60m de long, constituait le plus grand écran du monde pour la présentation de films et de projections de "chromotypes" qui en faisait un véritable Salon de peinture lumineuse.

La cabine était située en sous-sol à une quarantaine de mètres et apparaissait comme un blockhaus. C'était là aussi qu'était placée la machine nécessaire à une autre attraction : une grande étincelle de sept mètres, la plus grande effluve du monde qui jaillissait de deux pôles dans un bassin du jardin, en face du Palais de l'Electricité.

Un luxueux guide fournissait aux visiteurs tous les détails indispensables à la compréhension de l'importante exposition du Palais de l'Electricité, réalisé sous la direction de la Compagnie Parisienne d'Electricité avec le concours de la Ville de Paris et des groupements professionnels des industries de production et de distribution d'énergie électrique.

Copyright By Société pour le Développement du Tourisme