Back - List of Pavilions

Thomas Edison Memorial -

Thomas Edison Memorial at the Exhibition Expo Chicago 1933
© Kaufmann & Fabry Co

The Edison Memorial, erected in memory of one of the greatest geniuses in the field of invention and electricity, Thomas Alva Edison, is conveniently located near the power plant in the centre of the North Island.

The building exhibits the great inventor's seminal discoveries, with a reproduction of Edison's garden at his home in Orange, New Jersey, flowers, plants and a large oak tree, all brought from the original garden.

The exhibition is a fitting tribute to the memory of the man who made life more livable.


The original phonograph and the pencil drawing from which it was made are one of the most interesting exhibits currently on display in the Edison Memorial building on the North Island of the World's Fair "A Century of Progress".


The exhibition also traces the life of Thomas Edison from his birth to his death, or how a poor peddler can achieve worldwide fame in America if he has courage and ideas.

©Official Guide Book 1933-1934

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Mémorial Thomas Edison


Mémorial Thomas Edison à l'exposition de Chicago 1933

© Kaufmann & Fabry Co

Le Mémorial Edison, érigé en mémoire d'un des plus grands génies dans le domaine des invention et de l'électricité, Thomas Alva Edison, est idéalement situé à proximité du groupe d'électricité dans le centre de l'île du nord.

Le bâtiment expose les découvertes fondamentales du grand inventeur, avec une reproduction du jardin d'Edison à son domicile d'Orange, New Jersey, fleurs, plantes et un grand chêne, tous ayant été amenés du jardin original.

L'exposition rend un hommage friand à la mémoire de celui qui a rendu la vie plus vivable.


Le phonographe original et le dessin au crayon à partir duquel il a été fait sont l'une des expositions les plus intéressantes actuellement exposées dans le bâtiment du Mémorial Edison sur l'île nord de l'Exposition universelle "d'Un siècle de progrès".


L'exposition retrace aussi la vie de Thomas Edison de sa naissance jusqu'à sa mort ou comment un pauvre camelot peut atteindre une renommée mondiale en Amérique s'il a du courage et des idées.

Article rédigé à partir des livres Official Guide Book 1933-1934