Century of Progress International Exposition - Chicago 1933

A century of progress

May 27 - November 12, 1933 and June 1 - October 31, 1934


Back - List of Pavilions

Norway

Norway at the Exhibition Expo Chicago 1933

© Kaufmann & Fabry Co

In 1893, Magnus Andersen, a young Norwegian naval captain, delighted thousands of visitors to the Chicago World's Columbian Exposition by sailing a Viking ship from Norway to the Chicago Exposition port. On June 20, 1933, forty years later, Captain Andersen, now a 75 year old veteran, was again at the helm of a Norwegian ship, dropping anchor at a new exhibition "A Century of Progress". The ship is Norway's official exhibit at this world exhibition.

Captain Andersen's ship, the Sorlandet, was welcomed on Norway Day by H. Bracks, Norwegian Minister to the United States, and 100,000 Norwegian-Americans from all parts of the country. The welcome was given off the coast of the Exposition by the yacht of Eugene MacDonald, a Chicago radio manufacturer, and the Norwegian rowing team from Chicago accompanying him.

After docking, an elaborate welcome programme, including a 400-voice mixed choir, took place at the State House on Northerly Island.


The Sorlandet, a 270-foot three-masted sailing ship, manned by a crew of 90 cadets, 16 to 18 years old, left Oslo on 29 April only with sails.
Moving images of the entire voyage are being shown to World Expo visitors during the ship's five-week stay at sea on Northerly Island. Pictorial exhibitions of Norway's progress and famous landscapes are also on board.


The ship carries a cargo of 500 sacks of coffee, 200 barrels of meat, 500 sacks of sugar, two tons of butter and other supplies for its young crew of merchant marine apprentices.

©Official Guide Book 1933-1934

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Norvège


Norvège à l'exposition de Chicago 1933

© Kaufmann & Fabry Co

En 1893, Magnus Andersen, un jeune capitaine de la marine norvégienne, ravit des milliers de visiteurs de l'exposition "Chicago World's Columbian" en naviguant avec un bateau viking de la Norvège jusqu'au port de l'exposition de Chicago. Le 20 Juin 1933, quarante ans plus tard, le capitaine Andersen, maintenant un vétéran de 75 ans, a de nouveau été à la barre d'un navire norvégien, il jette l'ancre à une nouvelle exposition "A Century of Progress". Le bateau est la pièce officielle de la Norvège à cette exposition universelle..

Le navire du capitaine Andersen, le Sorlandet, a été accueilli pour la journée de la Norvège, par H. Bracks, ministre norvégien aux Etats-Unis, et 100.000 norvégien-Américains de toutes les régions du pays. L'accueil s'est fait au large des côtes de l'Exposition par le yacht de Eugene MacDonald, fabricant de radios de Chicago, et par l'équipe d'aviron norvégienne de Chicago en l'accompagnant.

Après accostage, un programme d'accueil très élaboré, dont un chœur mixte de 400 voix, a eu lieu au Palais des États sur Northerly Island.


Le Sorlandet, un voilier trois-mâts de 270 pieds, manœuvré par un équipage de 90 cadets, 16 à 18 ans, a quitté Oslo le 29 avril seulement avec les voiles.
Des images en mouvement de l'ensemble du voyage sont présentées aux visiteurs de l'Exposition universelle pendant le séjour du navire de cinq semaines en mer sur Northerly Island. De expositions picturales des progrès de la Norvège et les paysages célèbres sont également à bord.


Le navire transporte une cargaison de 500 sacs de café, 200 barils de viande, 500 sacs de sucre, deux tonnes de beurre et d'autres fournitures pour son jeune équipage d'apprentis marins de la marine marchande.

Article rédigé à partir des livres Official Guide Book 1933-1934