Century of Progress International Exposition - Chicago 1933

A century of progress

May 27 - November 12, 1933 and June 1 - October 31, 1934


Back - List of Pavilions

Ukraine

Ukraine at the Exhibition Expo Chicago 1933

© Kaufmann & Fabry Co

The "Ukrainian Village", located at the entrance to the street of the thirty-ninth session, was designed on the model of Ukrainian wooden architecture as evidenced by the village churches, rustic halls and bridges. Its interior is decorated partly in the Ukrainian style of the early 17th century and partly in the spirit of folk ornamentation which is characterised in embroidery, Easter eggs and other folk art.

The exhibition presents folk art with carpets, tapestries, embroideries, wood, leather and all other types of peasant art, modern art with sculptures and paintings by Alexander Archipenko, a famous Ukrainian artist, known in the world, who created an entirely new style in art, other paintings by other Ukrainian artists were also presented, and a statistical, geographical and economic part. Also displayed were maps and diagrams showing the Ukrainian territory in its various aspects, such as its size, population and mineral wealth. On the stage in the centre of the structure, the famous Ukrainian choirs, orchestras, soloists and dancers provided entertainment.

A restaurant offers a wide variety of dishes, both in Ukrainian and American style. The food is served by native Ukrainian waitresses in Ukrainian costumes. The Garden Beach offers a large cool area surrounded by trees where the exhibition visitor can relax.

©Official Guide Book 1933-1934

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Ukraine


Ukraine à l'exposition de Chicago 1933

© Kaufmann & Fabry Co

Le "Village ukrainien", situé à l'entrée de la rue de la trente-neuvième session, a été conçu sur le modèle de l'architecture en bois Ukrainienne comme en témoignent les églises de village, les salles rustiques et les ponts. Son intérieur est décoré en partie dans le style ukrainien du début du 17ème siècle et en partie dans l'esprit de l'ornement populaire qui est caractérisé dans les broderies, les œufs de Pâques et d'autres objets d'art populaire.

L'exposition présente l'art populaire avec tapis, tapisseries, broderies, bois, cuir et tous les autres types d'art paysan, l'art moderne avec des sculptures et des peintures d'Alexander Archipenko, un célèbre artiste ukrainien, connu dans le monde, qui a créé un style entièrement nouveau dans l'art, d'autres peintures par d'autres artistes ukrainiens étaient aussi présentées , et une partie statistique, géographique et économique. Sont aussi affichées des cartes et des diagrammes montrant le territoire ukrainien dans ses divers aspects, tels que sa taille, sa population et ses richesses minérales. Sur la scène, dans le centre de la structure, les célèbres chœurs ukrainiens, des orchestres, des solistes et des danseurs faisaient le divertissement.

Un restaurant propose une grande variété de plats, aussi bien dans le style ukrainien qu'américain. Les plats sont servis par des serveuses native d'Ukraine en costumes ukrainiens. Le Garden Beach offre un vaste espace frais entouré d'arbres où le visiteur de l'exposition peut se reposer.

Article rédigé à partir des livres Official Guide Book 1933-1934