Century of Progress International Exposition - Chicago 1933

A century of progress

May 27 - November 12, 1933 and June 1 - October 31, 1934


Back - List of Pavilions

Sweden

Sweden at the Exhibition Expo Chicago 1933

© Kaufmann & Fabry Co

The Swedish building on the main thoroughfare of the World's Fair, a few steps south of the Illinois building, is one of the foreign pavilions that receives one of the largest numbers of visitors each day.

Magnificent examples of Scandinavian art and craftsmanship are on display in the two halls of the building, for example Swedish industrial arts, glass, porcelain, carpets, tapestries, furniture, and pewter and silver accessories.

A large part of the back room is devoted to carpet weaving. Pictures, maps and models of ships, such as the Kungsholm TMS of the American-Swedish Line and the Nyckle Calmare with which the first Swedes came to America in 1638, were displayed in the foreground of the entrance hall.
There is also an oil painting of the Crown Prince and a bronze medal of King Gustav V.

Count Folke Bernadotte, the King's nephew, officially conveyed His Majesty's greetings on Sweden's day at the World Exhibition on Monday, June 19, while Prince Charles, the 22-year-old son of the elder Prince Charles, visited the exhibition on June 1.

©Official Guide Book 1933-1934

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Suède


Suède à l'exposition de Chicago 1933

© Kaufmann & Fabry Co

Le bâtiment suédois sur l'artère principale de l'Exposition universelle, à quelques pas au sud du bâtiment de l'Illinois, est l'un des pavillons étrangers qui reçoit un des plus grand nombre de visiteurs chaque jour.

De magnifiques exemples de l'art et l'artisanat du pays scandinave sont exposés dans les deux salles du bâtiment, par exemple les arts industriels suédois, verre, porcelaine, tapis, tapisseries, meubles, et des accessoires en étain et argent.

Une grande partie de la salle arrière est consacrée au tissage de tapis. Images, cartes et maquettes de navires, tels que le Kungsholm TMS de l'américano-suédoise Line et le Nyckle Calmare avec lequel les premiers Suédois sont venus en Amérique en 1638, étaient affiché en premier plan dans le hall d'entrée.
Il y a aussi une peinture à l'huile du Prince héritier et une médaille de bronze du roi Gustave V.

Le comte Folke Bernadotte, neveu du roi, a officiellement transmis les salutations de Sa Majesté, lors de la journée de la Suède à l'exposition universelle, le lundi Juin 19, tandis que le prince Charles, fils de 22 ans de l'aîné le prince Charles, a visité l'exposition de 1er Juin.

Article rédigé à partir des livres Official Guide Book 1933-1934