Century of Progress International Exposition - Chicago 1933

A century of progress

May 27 - November 12, 1933 and June 1 - October 31, 1934


Back - List of Pavilions

General Exhibits Group

General Exhibits Group at the Exhibition Chicago 1933

© Kaufmann & Fabry Co

Comb-shaped on the plan, with five pavilions and four courtyards open to the lagoon, the general exhibition group extends for almost a quarter of a mile south of the Hall of Science to which it is connected by a double arcade, where shops and displays are found.

With this opening to the lagoon and its pools, the buildings themselves seem to invite the visitor to enter and see represented the living histories of the furniture, graphic arts, office equipment, leather and sports goods, cosmetics, jewellery, textiles and mining industries and industrial engineering.

The 5 pavilions are 110 feet wide and are separated by courtyards, each of which is 120 feet wide. In the centre of each pavilion is a large hall, 40 feet wide and 160 feet long, with an unusually high ceiling that lends itself to spectacular effects. Stairs and lead railings on the upper level, from which one can look down into the main hall.

Produced at remarkably low cost, and simple in construction, the General Exhibition buildings are another outstanding example of Exhibition architecture.

Among the many well-known companies in this group of buildings are the Illinois Steel company, Gulf Refining company, Elgin National Watch company, Phoenix Hosiery company, Pure Oil company, and L. E. Waterman company. About 50 other companies, from salt-adding machine manufacturers to theatre tickets, are also present.

Included in the Illinois Steel company display is a large Scenorama depicting steel's share of advances in aviation and shipping and all the major uses of steel.

©Official Guide Book 1933-1934

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Groupe des expositions générales.


Groupe des expositions générales. à l'exposition de Chicago 1933

© Kaufmann & Fabry Co

En forme de peigne sur le plan, avec cinq pavillons et quatre cours ouverts vers la lagune, le groupe des expositions générales s'étend sur presque un quart de mile au sud du Hall des Sciences auquel il est relié par un double-jeu d'arcade, où l'on trouve des magasins et des affichages.

Avec cette ouverture vers la lagune et ses piscines, les bâtiments eux-mêmes semblent inviter le visiteur à entrer et voir représentées les histoires vivantes des meubles, les arts graphiques, du matériel de bureau, articles en cuir et de sport, cosmétiques, bijoux, textiles et industries minières et génie industriel.

Les 5 pavillons sont larges de 110 pieds et sont séparés par des cours dont chacune à une largeur de 120 pieds. Au centre de chaque pavillon se trouve une grande salle, 40 pieds de large et 160 pieds de long, avec un plafond d'une hauteur inhabituelle se prêtant à des effets spectaculaires. Les escaliers et les rampes de plomb au niveau supérieur, d'où l'on peut regarder vers le bas dans le hall principal.

Produites à un coût remarquablement faible, et simple dans la construction, les bâtiments de l'exposition générale constituent un autre exemple remarquable de l'architecture de l'Exposition.

Parmi les nombreuses compagnies renommées, dans ce groupe de bâtiments se trouvent Illinois Steel company, Gulf Refining company, Elgin National Watch company, Phoenix Hosiery company, Pure Oil company, and L. E. Waterman company. Une cinquantaine d'autres compagnies , les fabricants de machines à additionner les sels jusqu'aux billets de théâtre, sont également présents.

Inclus dans l'affichage de Illinois Steel company se trouve un grand Scénorama qui représente la part de l'acier prise dans les progrès dans l'aviation et le transport maritime et l'ensemble des principales utilisations de l'acier.

Article rédigé à partir des livres Official Guide Book 1933-1934