Century of Progress International Exposition - Chicago 1933

A century of progress

May 27 - November 12, 1933 and June 1 - October 31, 1934


Back - List of Pavilions

Sky Ride

Sky Ride at the Exhibition Expo Chicago 1933

The Ferris Wheel of the Columbian Exposition was the wonder of mechanical devices in 1893. The outstanding structure of Chicago's Centennial celebration is the Sky Ride with its two towers that stretch over 620 feet into the sky.


One of these two towers is located just south of Soldiers' Field, while the other is on the lagoon between the Electric Group and the State Buildings. The 1850 foot distance between the two towers exceeds in length the George Washington Bridge cable car that crosses the Hudson River just above New York City.

The rocket cars (the passenger cabins) that run from one tower to the other have a capacity of 3,600 people per hour, and travel at a height of 218 feet, so visitors have the opportunity to see the exhibition park as they have never been seen before.

At the top of the tower are observation platforms, fully glazed, that allow the viewing of four states on a clear day. To the west, Illinois and its "Magic City" can be seen; to the south and east, Indiana and its Gary steel mills; Michigan to the east, and its sand dunes; and northward, Wisconsin and its shoreline.

Nearly fifty feet higher than Chicago's tallest building, and almost a hundred feet higher than the Washington Monument, the Sky Ride presents a unique spectacle.

Built at a cost of approximately $1,200,000, the project used 2,000 tons of steel in the construction of its towers. And 1,000 tons were used for the support cables that connect the two towers.

The testing of each element in the project was so exhaustive that visitors to the Exhibition will be able to drive through the clouds as safely as in their own cars.

©Official Guide Book 1933-1934

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Sky Ride


Sky Ride à l'exposition de Chicago 1933

La roue de Ferris de la Columbian Exposition était la merveille de dispositifs mécaniques en 1893. La structure exceptionnelle de la célébration Centenaire de Chicago est le Sky Ride avec ses deux tours qui s'étirement à plus de 620 pieds dans le ciel.


L'une de ces deux tours est situé juste au sud de Soldiers' Field, tandis que l'autre est sur le lagon entre le Groupe électrique et les édifices États. La distance de1850 pieds entre les deux tours dépasse en longueur le téléphérique du pont George Washington qui traverse le fleuve Hudson juste au-dessus de New York.

Les rocket cars (les cabines transportant les passagers) qui circulent d'une tour à l'autre ont une capacité de 3.600 personnes par heure,et voyagent à une hauteur de 218 pieds, ainsi les visiteurs ont l'occasion de voir le parc de exposition comme ils ne l'avaient jamais été vu avant.

Au sommet de la tour se trouve des plates-formes d'observation, entièrement vitré, qui permettent la vision de quatre états par temps clair. A l'ouest, l'Illinois et sa «Magic City» peut être vu, au sud et à l'est, l'Indiana et de ses aciéries Gary; le Michigan à l'est, et ses dunes de sable, et vers le nord, le Wisconsin et sa ligne de rivage.

Près de cinquante pieds plus élevé que le plus haut bâtiment de Chicago, et presque une centaine de pieds plus haut que le Washington Monument, le Sky Ride présente un spectacle unique.

Construit pour un coût d'environ $ 1,200,000, le projet a fait appel à 2.000 tonnes d'acier dans la construction de ses tours. Et 1.000 tonnes ont été utilisés pour les câbles de soutien qui relient les deux tours.

Les tests de chaque élément dans le projet étaient tellement exhaustive que les visiteurs de l'Exposition sera capable de circuler au milieu des nuages en toute sécurité comme dans leur propre voiture.

Article rédigé à partir des livres Official Guide Book 1933-1934