Century of Progress International Exposition - Chicago 1933

A century of progress

May 27 - November 12, 1933 and June 1 - October 31, 1934


Back - List of Pavilions

Italy

Italy at the Exhibition Expo Chicago 1933

© Kaufmann & Fabry Co

Architect(s) : Libera, Valenti et Direnzi

On 5 September 1932, the Italian Consul General was received by Prime Minister Benito Mussolini in Rome at 8.30 p.m. and within five minutes, Italy officially decided to participate in the exhibition "A Century of Progress".

A programme was built in the following minutes, divided into four parts:

First, the construction of the Italian pavilion, which is located to the north-east of the Hall of Science. It was designed by the three Roman architects, Libera, Valenti and Direnzi, and the construction was entrusted to Alexander V. Capraro, an architect from Chicago. The Italian government appointed His Excellency Prince Spada Ludovico Potenziani, a senator of the Kingdom and former governor of Rome, as the Italian Royal Commissioner for the Universal Exhibition. Together with Prince Potenziani, the Italian government has sent Commissioner Luigi Ranieri as architect and consulting engineer, and Mr. Liebman as Commissioner for Tourism and Navigation.

Second, it is also necessary for Italy that the people of Chicago know the truth about Italy's scientific contribution to the world. Most people believe that Italians are great artists, singers or musicians. Few people know that the most important inventions came from the imagination of Italian-born scientists. Galileo invented the telescope and discovered the moons of Jupiter, and Marconi is responsible for the invention of radio, wireless telegraphy and wireless telephony. Between these two geniuses lies a long list of inventors, including Volta, Meucci, Barsanti, Pacinotti and Galileo Farraris. Professor Enrico Bompiani, a professor at the University of Rome, is the curator of the scientific exhibition which is located in the Hall of Science. All the material from this exhibition will be handed over to the Rosenwald Museum of Science and Industry at the end of the exhibition as a permanent gift of the Italian contribution to science.

Third, the flight of the air fleet of twenty-four planes piloted by one hundred men under the direct command of His Excellency, General Italo Balbo, Italian Minister of the Air Force, from Rome to Chicago.

And fourthly, the organisation of an Italian Day at the Universal Exhibition. The day chosen is 3 August, the anniversary of the date on which Christopher Columbus left Spain in 1492 to discover this continent, America. The day includes the renaming of Inner Drive to Columbus Drive and the inauguration of the Columbus Memorial.

©Official Guide Book 1933-1934

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Italie


Italie à l'exposition de Chicago 1933

© Kaufmann & Fabry Co
Architecte(s) : Libera, Valenti et Direnzi

Le 5 Septembre 1932, le Consul général d'Italie, a été reçu par le Premier ministre Benito Mussolini à Rome à 20h30 et en cinq minutes, l' Italie a officiellement décidé de participer à l'exposition "A Century of Progress".

Un programme se construisit dans les minutes suivantes, et se divisait en quatre parties:

Tout d'abord, la construction du pavillon italien, qui situé au nord-est du Hall des Sciences. Il a été conçu par les trois architectes romains, Libera, Valenti et Direnzi, et la construction a été confiée à Alexander V. Capraro, architecte de Chicago. Le gouvernement italien a nommé en qualité de commissaire Royal italien pour l'Exposition Universelle, Son Excellence le Prince Spada Ludovico Potenziani, sénateur du Royaume et ancien gouverneur de Rome. Avec le Prince Potenziani, le gouvernement italien a envoyé le commissaire Luigi Ranieri en tant qu'architecte et ingénieur conseil, et M. Liebman en tant que commissaire pour le tourisme et la navigation.

Deuxièmement, il est également nécessaire pour l'Italie, que le peuple de Chicago connaisse la vérité sur la contribution scientifique de l'Italie au niveau mondial. La plupart des gens croient que les Italiens sont de grands artistes, des chanteurs ou des musiciens. Peu de gens savent que les inventions les plus importantes sont issues de l'imagination de scientifiques nés en Italie. Galilée a inventé le télescope et découvert les lunes de Jupiter, et Marconi est responsable de l'invention de la radio, la télégraphie sans fil et la téléphonie sans fil. Entre ces deux génies se situe une longue liste d'inventeurs, notamment Volta, Meucci, Barsanti, Pacinotti et Galileo Farraris. Le Professeur Enrico Bompiani, un professeur à l'Université de Rome, est le commissaire de l'exposition scientifique qui est situé dans le Hall des Sciences. Tout le matériel de cette exposition sera remis au Musée Rosenwald of Science and Industry à la fin de l'exposition comme un cadeau permanent de la contribution italienne à la science.

Troisièmement, le vol de la flotte aérienne composée de vingt-quatre avions pilotés par cent hommes sous le commandement direct de Son Excellence, le général Italo Balbo, ministre de l'Air italien, de Rome à Chicago.

Et quatrièmement, l'organisation d'une Journée italienne à l'Exposition universelle. Le jour choisi est le 3 août, l'anniversaire de la date à laquelle Christophe Colomb partit d'Espagne en 1492 pour découvrir ce continent, l'Amérique. Cette journée comprend le renomage de Inner Drive en Columbus Drive ainsi que l'inauguration du monument "Memorial de Colomb"(Columbus Memorial).

Article rédigé à partir des livres Official Guide Book 1933-1934